Don't update AE today!

Questions about Video Copilot products

Don't update AE today!

Postby IndyJones1023 on 06/21/2016, 9:09 am

I did and all my Video CoPilot plugins are gone. :(
Common sense is a gift, not a given.
IndyJones1023
 
Posts: 462
Joined: 08/2/2008, 2:09 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Don't update AE today!

Postby Dustin Hudson on 06/21/2016, 10:03 am

If you navigate to your C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC 2015\Support Files\Plug-ins folder you'll see the VC plugins are still in that one, you can drag them to the new one at: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC 2015.3\Support Files\Plug-ins. Mac is the same directory just under Applications.

If any licensing issues come up, it would be best to reinstall the plug-in from scratch.

Just as a heads up for anyone else when you are installing new versions of AE, when you hit install, there is a little Advanced button that lets you keep the old version of AE as well. in case you're in the middle of a project etc.
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Re: Don't update AE today!

Postby IndyJones1023 on 06/21/2016, 10:07 am

Good tip to know, thanks!
Common sense is a gift, not a given.
IndyJones1023
 
Posts: 462
Joined: 08/2/2008, 2:09 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Don't update AE today!

Postby des-man on 08/1/2016, 4:27 am

since adobe is updating so much more frequently now, and each update is a fresh install, perhaps you should sticky this to the top.

BTW how to i connect my shader packs back into the moved V2; it doesn't have them any more?
des-man
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/9/2016, 4:19 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit 6.1.7601
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
RAM: 32708MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 670/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 10.18.13.6519
GPU RAM: 4096MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 670 (47.4%) (GL Interop)
CL1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (5.3%)
CL2: GeForce GTX 670 (47.4%)

Re: Don't update AE today!

Postby Dustin Hudson on 08/1/2016, 1:16 pm

VideoCopilot folders shouldn't be affected by updated AE versions. Running a fresh install of the shader packs is normally the best way to resolve issues related though. If you have any custom saved material presets, placing them in the Documents/VideoCopilot/Material folder will let the material preset show up in the Scene Setup.
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud


Return to VC Product Support