Page 1 of 1

Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/8/2012, 9:27 pm
by chipburns
Okay, so I've got an Excel document like the one here:

Image

and I have an RPM meter that I'm keyframing the positioning of here:

Image

I know there has to be a way to automate this process! There's 10 videos at about 30 minutes apiece that have about 175 keyframing position each.... See why I am looking for a script! ;)

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/9/2012, 9:08 am
by Mylenium
Check AEnhancers and AEScripts. Scripts like Comps from Spreadsheet or Text to Layers could easily be modified to do this and there may be otehrs already doing what you want.

Mylenium

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/9/2012, 10:26 am
by Maxweel
I made this last year to animate Nulls from experimental data. I haven't used it since, not sure how reliable it is. I added some alert messages today to guide you a bit, have a look at the enclosed CSV file to see how to format the data.
Basically the time must be in the left column in second or 0:00:00:00 format. Then you can have between 1 and 4 columns of data.

EDIT: maybe I should elaborate, select any keyframeable property of a layer, then run the script and select the CSV file containing the values of the keyframes and their time.
For example if you want to keyframe the value of RotationX, you'll just need in the CSV a column with the time and one with the rotation value.
If you want to keyframe the orientation, you'll need a column for the time, one for the orientation around X, one for the rotation around Y, and obviously a third one for around Z.
Same idea for the position, text, etc

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/9/2012, 1:13 pm
by klaus brandenburg
Kevin, you're my hero (again)!!! This might be exactly what I'm looking for. As soon as I got some time to breathe I will take a look at the script (and send you a mail with kitten news) :)

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/10/2012, 8:51 pm
by chipburns
Maxweel wrote:I made this last year to animate Nulls from experimental data.

Thanks! I'm going to try this now.

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/10/2012, 10:57 pm
by chipburns
Maxwell, would your script be easy to change the timecode to include the "Hours" part of the timecode?

Basically, just adding an '01:' in the script?

I've experimented, and this is the only holdup!

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/11/2012, 9:07 am
by Maxweel
Well the time code should be in the form 0:00:00:00 so the hours are already taken into account.
In After Effects timecodes are in the form hours:minutes:seconds:frames and for video I don't think you'd need more than that.

I see that in your screenshots your timecodes are always in the form 1:00:32:00, you're saying it doesn't work for those?


EDIT: if you're referring to the fact that in the CSV (not the script) the timecodes don't have the hours, then it's only because you don't actually need to enter the value of the hours. So you can use the script with a full timecode, but I have to confess I've never done it, so give it a try and tell me if it works

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/16/2012, 12:47 am
by chipburns
All I had to do was go into Excel and remove the hours section of the timecode and the script works like a charm for what I need. Makes hours worth of work go by in seconds.

Thanks again!

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 10/16/2012, 7:29 am
by Maxweel
So you wanted to remove the hours. I didn't understand that, your last post wasn't very clear. Glad it worked.

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 09/6/2016, 4:17 pm
by pricebill
I realize this is an ancient script but I'm having difficulty getting it to work with Trapcode Form. I'd like to take a CSV of yaw, pitch and roll numbers and apply them to the keyframes of a 3D object represented by Trapcode Form. CSV Keyframes.jsx returns the error "Please select a keyframeable property". Is an effect not "keyframeable"?

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 09/9/2016, 1:27 am
by star+circle
I'm not familiar with this script, but I would guess you'd have to have the target property selected (sounds like orientation or rotation in your case) before applying it.

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 09/9/2016, 2:30 pm
by pricebill
Thanks for the reply star+circle. I have selected the target property and still receive the error. The script works well when I target a simple layer property but not when attempting to target the x, y, or z rotation of a 3D object rendered by the Trapcode Form 2 plug-in.

Re: Need help with a script!

PostPosted: 09/11/2016, 12:11 am
by star+circle
Try applying it to the rotation of a 3D null and pick whip the rotation to Form from there.