Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/24/2012, 12:50 am

Hello VC team and community,

I'm having a problem with pickwhipping rotation values (replicator & particle). Every time I try to link the rotation to another object (another rotation or even a text layer for value readout) I get "1" instead of the current value. Other properties like position work as expected so I guess this might be a bug.

Cheers,

Klaus
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby Maxweel on 07/24/2012, 7:32 am

Hi Klaus,
I'm getting this with all the knob controllers in Element, it seems only the sliders "send" their values properly.
Maxweel
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2012, 8:21 am
Location: Ipswich, UK

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby dqhoward on 07/24/2012, 7:49 am

Ah I get what you mean now.
When I was working on the rotating groups expression initially I did with expressions inside Element3d parameters. Then it dawned on me, looking at the names in the pickwicks that they had insufficient detail to uniquely identify them. eg not "group1_partlook_rot_X", just "X"
I subconciously dumped eveything into a Null with expression controls, carried on working there, and pickwicked out of element3d to the results.
In my case, seeing the Null was an unplanned bonus :twisted:
dqhoward
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 01/31/2012, 11:29 am

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby Andrew Kramer on 07/24/2012, 1:39 pm

Hold down ALT while you pickwhip values so they use the parameter number instead of the name.
Andrew Kramer
VC Awesome Guy
VC Awesome Guy
 
Posts: 1201
Joined: 01/11/2008, 12:54 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/24/2012, 2:20 pm

Andrew Kramer wrote:Hold down ALT while you pickwhip values so they use the parameter number instead of the name.


Thanks Andrew :) Is this the secret of making expressions universal? There are some language issues with expressions names. If this helps with making expressions language-free you saved me some trouble in another case so thanks again :D
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby Maxweel on 07/25/2012, 2:45 am

This is so useful, I can't believe I never heard fo it. I used this to correct my shadow script (http://www.videocopilot.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=89458#p304797), now the shadow is fully linked to the original Element layer (well unless you change anything in the Scene Setup obviously).
Maxweel
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2012, 8:21 am
Location: Ipswich, UK

Re: Question about rotation values of Element 3D

Postby dqhoward on 07/25/2012, 4:49 am

News to me too! 'Tis why he is the master and we are just padawans...
dqhoward
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 01/31/2012, 11:29 am


Return to Element 3D