uvw unwrapping? Whats the deal?

Everything Element 3D belongs here

uvw unwrapping? Whats the deal?

Postby jforge on 07/19/2012, 12:49 pm

(For the record, I'm not a 3d artist or animator. I have very little to no experience with 3d programs or models.)

I wanted to bring up this topic being that I'm running into texture problems (as for others) with custom 3d models from Turbosquid. Now after reading threw some of the forums I found one topic that sorta talked about the issue I'm having but didn't give a clear answer.

My question, to correctly texture a custom 3d model in Element 3D you must UV unwrap it first or have a 3d model that's been unwrapped?

here's Andrew Kramer's textures. Iv'e yet to find a 3d model on turbosquid that comes like this.

Any feedback or help would be appreciated! Thanks!!
Forgehouse Films
jforge

Twitter: jasonforge

Re: uvw unwrapping? Whats the deal?

Postby TomPietrowski on 07/19/2012, 1:10 pm

most models will have a UV map. Turbo squid lists if the model is UVed or not. If you get a model that is not, all you need to do is download blender (free) watch a few UVing tutorials and then UV the model.

Setting out UV's is not to hard and its a useful thing you will need to learn if you ever start making your own models and textures.
TomPietrowski

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/19/2012, 2:02 pm

I also have problems creating a uv map in cinema 4d let alone blender. some of my models have working maps already but in order to reduce the amount of maps it would be nice to be able to limit the amount of textures to one and maybe another for tranpsarent objects. I tried the uv mapping tool and the baking texture procedure but anything I export doesnt look well in c4d and e3d, so if anybody is capable to do a tutorial on that it would be highly appreciated.
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg

Postby jforge on 07/19/2012, 2:06 pm