Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby serge-m on 07/16/2012, 11:03 am

UPDATE: Tutorial is now online ---> https://vimeo.com/45948269

- - -

Hi All,

I just got the idea to import the basic transformation keys (position, scaling, rotation) from Cinema 4D to Element 3D via the import/export possibilities from both of the programs.
Here's a little sneak:

http://www.serge-mustu.de/c4d2e3d.mov

I make the tutorial very soon and will post the Vimeo link in here.

Greetings

Serge
Last edited by serge-m on 07/17/2012, 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mac Pro 8 Core • C4D R14 Studio • Octane • AECS6 • GTX 580
serge-m
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 07/14/2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Hamburg/Germany

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby davekatague on 07/16/2012, 11:40 am

HOLY MUTHAF SERGE! Great thinking :D
davekatague
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07/13/2012, 1:31 pm

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/16/2012, 12:24 pm

Sounds great :) If you got some spare time you could also do a tutorial on baking uv textures from c4d to e3d. I have a lot of models and fail to export them to a uv texture that element applies right.
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby TomPietrowski on 07/16/2012, 3:31 pm

Its pretty easy to bring animation in, there are a few ways, an obj sequence works well, it requires some set up, but allows for deforming objects.

Your method seems to work well for bringing in dynamic animations so long as the object does not deform.
TomPietrowski
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 11/18/2008, 3:55 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby Andrew Kramer on 07/16/2012, 6:59 pm

Looking forward to it!
Andrew Kramer
VC Awesome Guy
VC Awesome Guy
 
Posts: 1201
Joined: 01/11/2008, 12:54 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby godan on 07/19/2012, 1:27 pm

hi all
im really interested in bringing in animation.

TomPietrowski wrote:Its pretty easy to bring animation in, there are a few ways, an obj sequence works well, it requires some set up, but allows for deforming objects.


did you manage to bring in the obj sequence?

cheers
godan
godan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07/18/2012, 1:45 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby TomPietrowski on 07/19/2012, 5:47 pm

^yep you can do it, its not really what element is meant for but it can be done. Have a look at this video.
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sm4Sd2YP6_Q&feature=related[/youtube]
TomPietrowski
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 11/18/2008, 3:55 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby godan on 07/20/2012, 4:57 am

WOW great!

could you maybee tell something about how you did that?

ill tryed to import a simple cube keyframe animation as obj sequence but it just read the first obj.
or do you load every step as own model? and then blend animate in E3D?

i know that E3D is not ment for this but for me it would open worlds of possibilities.

thank you very much in advance.

godan
godan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07/18/2012, 1:45 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby mattjgerard on 07/20/2012, 9:18 am

https://vimeo.com/45611410

This should help you
mattjgerard
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 07/20/2012, 9:17 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby TomPietrowski on 07/20/2012, 2:22 pm

You cant load obj sequences as standard you have to do a bit a of a long winded setup.

If your sequence is animated on 1's, ie each frame is a differnt pose, then you want to set up element so that it has 2 models per element layer. But you only really have to set up the first layer, you then just copy the other layers and change the models.

So for the first 2 frames you load frame 1 into group 1 and frame 2 into group 2. Use the animation engine to animate from group 1 to 2 over the space of 2 frames. Cut the layer so it is only 2 frames long. Then copy the layer and switch frame 3 obj into group 1 and frame 4 into group 2. Go on like this untill you have your whole animation loaded.

You then simply offset the layers by 2 frames. You can use a script to speed this up.

Make sure to make any settings like AO and DOF in the first layer and they will copy through all teh addtional layers.

Pretty easy set up just can take a while with longer animations.
TomPietrowski
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 11/18/2008, 3:55 am

Re: Get Your Cinema 4D Animation To Element 3D: Tutorial...

Postby Andrew-Not-Kramer on 07/21/2012, 3:53 am

TomPietrowski wrote:You then simply offset the layers by 2 frames. You can use a script to speed this up.

Make sure to make any settings like AO and DOF in the first layer and they will copy through all teh addtional layers.

Pretty easy set up just can take a while with longer animations.

This is such a brilliant workaround I had to register just to say thank you. It also convinced me to purchase Element 3d. :)
If anyone would come up with a script for automating this it would be even more awesome. You just point to the obj sequence and it would automatically create all the layers, link every attribute to the 'master' layer etc.
Andrew-Not-Kramer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 07/21/2012, 3:38 am


Return to Element 3D