Disappointed

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Disappointed

Postby Rob Neal on 07/14/2012, 1:57 am

My company bought Element a couple of nights ago for a specific problem on a job we are doing, and I thought it would be the perfect way of bringing in 3D models into AE without having to faff about with 3D apps and then having to export cameras and the likes.

Whilst Element is a major game changer, and an extraordinary development, it has turned out to be useless for our purposes because it has no cast shadows. To be honest, it was such a basic function, and something even the AE CS6 raytrace renderer does, I took it as read. It was only when I read up the online manual only available once it has been purchased, (PS VCP why can't you produce full printable PDF manuals for your products?) that I realised that shadows were not rendered. I need to have objects sitting on floors, and trying to fake shadows just doesn't work and ambient occlusion is not the answer either, so even the though the render quality is gorgeous, everything is floating off the screen and looks terrible because of lack of shadows.

That's $150 bucks I won't be seeing back I guess. :(
"Experience is what you have after you've forgotten their name. - Milton Berle"


http://www.robneal.co.uk
Rob Neal
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: 09/30/2008, 4:29 am
Location: London, England

Re: Disappointed

Postby Dan Hildebrand on 07/14/2012, 7:26 am

I don't mean any disrespect or anything, but i'm sure you can find other uses for it if it's a game changer as you suggested.

And if not, just ask for a refund.
Q: Why did the layer cross the composition?
A: To get to the keyframe on the other side!!!
Dan Hildebrand
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 05/21/2012, 11:09 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
System Specs: OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 6.1.7601

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
RAM: 32707MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GTX 980

Re: Disappointed

Postby Faust on 07/14/2012, 8:01 am

Dan Hildebrand wrote:i'm sure you can find other uses for it if it's a game changer as you suggested.

He said its useless for their purposes. However, Rob, it's silly to complain about how you won't be seeing your money back just because of this one feature. I'm sure I don't need to tell you how many other things you can do with Element. Shadows aren't in version 1, but Andrew mentioned that they are difficult to implement and can be very buggy. Keep your eyes open for future versions.
I have dual citizenship with the United States and Florida.


http://chariotdrive.com/
Faust
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: 07/29/2009, 12:56 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Zeke_Faust
System Specs: Intel Core i9-7980X
GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Samsung 960 PRO Series 512GB OS + 2TB cache
128GB DDR4 3000
2 x TitanXp GPU

Re: Disappointed

Postby bwoogie on 07/14/2012, 8:43 am

Rob, Andrew has said multiple times that Element doesn't do Ray Tracing.

Image
The reset button was my idea.
bwoogie
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: 08/1/2008, 7:30 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bwoogie

Re: Disappointed

Postby Rob Neal on 07/14/2012, 8:50 am

bwoogie wrote:Rob, Andrew has said multiple times that Element doesn't do Ray Tracing.

I always assumed that ray tracing was with regard to accurate reflections and radiosity etc.
Shadows can be achieved through othe means, such as area mapping. I simply assumed a shadow was about as basic as it can get.
"Experience is what you have after you've forgotten their name. - Milton Berle"


http://www.robneal.co.uk
Rob Neal
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: 09/30/2008, 4:29 am
Location: London, England

Re: Disappointed

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/15/2012, 1:44 pm

Andrew provided a wonderful workaround in his "particle shadows" tutorial. worked fine for me.
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Disappointed

Postby Dan on 07/15/2012, 1:56 pm

Rob,

Sorry to hear your frustration. Seeing as there has already been an update regarding GPUs, i must wonder if this is a feature that can be added as part of an update.

Regards,

Dan

Image
AKA Triphazard
If you ever need help with anything having to do with Macs, don't ask me... Hi, i'm Dan, and i'm a PC
Dan
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 854
Joined: 08/3/2008, 10:04 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Disappointed

Postby ccrest on 07/15/2012, 1:59 pm

Rob,

You can fake shadows easily. Also as stated earlier, Andrew has a particle shaders tutorial that works.

I just finished a full review for others who may be interested in buying it.
This plugin, as you said, IS a game changer.

ccrest
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 07/15/2012, 12:08 am

Re: Disappointed

Postby Rob Neal on 07/19/2012, 7:34 am

ccrest wrote:You can fake shadows easily. Also as stated earlier, Andrew has a particle shaders tutorial that works.

Useful video! Just one thing, you might like to get a ground lift on your audio, the hum is awful.
"Experience is what you have after you've forgotten their name. - Milton Berle"


http://www.robneal.co.uk
Rob Neal
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: 09/30/2008, 4:29 am
Location: London, England

Re: Disappointed

Postby Tino Hertz on 07/19/2012, 9:26 am

Hi Rob,

Sorry for any inconvenience, but Element does not support shadow casting. We can offer you a full refund if you are not satisfied. No questions asked. Just send me the email you purchased the plug-in with, and I will take care of the rest.

Regards,
Tino Hertz
tino@videocopilot.net
Tino Hertz
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 11/25/2009, 3:35 pm

Re: Disappointed

Postby OB1 Kenobi on 07/19/2012, 11:10 am

Rob Neal wrote:it has turned out to be useless for our purposes because it has no cast shadows.


It was stated numerous times in the videos and what-not that it would not feature shadows :!:

Besides just because it doesn't cast shadows doesn't mean you can't have shadows, just fake it, it's really easy and if done right no one will notice.

A quick crap example:
with-shadows.jpg
OB1 Kenobi
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 09/15/2011, 11:37 am

Re: Disappointed

Postby Faust on 07/19/2012, 11:12 am

I also had an idea about how to make more realistic fake shadows. It essentially involves placing a camera at the position of the light casting the shadow, and camera projecting that view of the element object onto the surface. You're essentially projecting the geometry onto the surface from the point of view of the light. I haven't tried it yet, but it might be an interesting solution.
I have dual citizenship with the United States and Florida.


http://chariotdrive.com/
Faust
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: 07/29/2009, 12:56 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Zeke_Faust
System Specs: Intel Core i9-7980X
GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Samsung 960 PRO Series 512GB OS + 2TB cache
128GB DDR4 3000
2 x TitanXp GPU

Re: Disappointed

Postby Rob Neal on 07/20/2012, 9:22 am

Tino Hertz wrote:Hi Rob
Sorry for any inconvenience, but Element does not support shadow casting. We can offer you a full refund if you are not satisfied. No questions asked. Just send me the email you purchased the plug-in with, and I will take care of the rest.


Hi Tino,
In retrospect, I have managed to get the Ambient occlusion to produce a passable method of creating shadows, so thanks, I shall stick with it as Element is still way ahead of any other techniques I am trying, and I'm sure I will be using it elsewhere.

Regards,
Rob
"Experience is what you have after you've forgotten their name. - Milton Berle"


http://www.robneal.co.uk
Rob Neal
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: 09/30/2008, 4:29 am
Location: London, England

Re: Disappointed

Postby sebasvideo on 07/21/2012, 7:13 pm

klaus brandenburg wrote:Andrew provided a wonderful workaround in his "particle shadows" tutorial. worked fine for me.


I'm trying to find this tutorial but it doesn't seem to be in the tutorials section, where is it?
sebasvideo
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 07/13/2012, 9:57 pm

Re: Disappointed

Postby lkristoffersen on 07/22/2012, 11:34 pm

lkristoffersen
 
Posts: 148
Joined: 07/17/2012, 7:30 am


Return to Element 3D