Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby chfilm on 07/13/2012, 8:46 am

Hey,

there's gotta be a way to do this but I'm still just trying to begin to scratch the surface of the possibilities of element.

SO: I want to animate from group 1 to group 2, no problem (thx to latest update yey).
Then, I want to do another step and animate further to group 3. Can't figure out how, since the keyframes for group selection in the animation engine are hold keyframes and not changeable, otherwise I would have guessed just switch during 1 frame the start and finish group, and also reset the animation to 0%. But that just won't work.

What am I overlooking? :?:
chfilm
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 07/12/2012, 8:51 am

Re: Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/13/2012, 9:14 am

Okay you have to arange all your groups to your liking. when you animate from 1 to 2 you set group three to size 0 and set a keyframe on group direction. when you reach 100% of your 1 to 2 animation you set keyframes for start group 2 end group 3. set keyframes for the scale of 3 (original size) and 1 (o) and also change group direction to backward. now you can animate from 100% to 0% . rinse and repeat until you run out of groups :)
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby candymanjl on 07/13/2012, 9:52 am

I was really hoping that I could simply set the start group to 1 and the end group to 5 and just animate through all of them in order.

Maybe a future release will have that :)
Just trying to learn!
candymanjl
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 06/27/2012, 1:54 pm
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Twitter: candymanjl

Re: Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby chfilm on 07/13/2012, 10:41 am

omg that is a ridiculous workflow :D but thx, gonna try!
chfilm
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 07/12/2012, 8:51 am

Re: Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby klaus brandenburg on 07/13/2012, 12:17 pm

you also could split layers ;)
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Animating from group 1 to 2, then 2 to 3 ?

Postby candymanjl on 07/13/2012, 2:01 pm

klaus brandenburg wrote:you also could split layers ;)


Ahhh, that sounds a little better :)
Just trying to learn!
candymanjl
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 06/27/2012, 1:54 pm
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Twitter: candymanjl


Return to Element 3D