Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby futerdan on 07/11/2012, 3:47 am

Hey there!
I'm just about to purchase my copy of elements, but I wanted to ask a question that I couldn't find the answer to. Maybe I just missed it with all the excitement of this amazing plugin.

I have a logo in .ai format, which is object based - meaning I have text for example, but it's already expanded into objects so it's not live text anymore.

For the sake of the question, let's say this logo is something which I cannot reproduce.

Does Element have the option to insert an object from illustrator, extrude it and add different shades to it?

Thanks!
I'd really apreciate it if someone who's already baought the plugin could try it out and let me know.
Free AE Templates and Video Tutorials:
http://www.amigo-productions.com
futerdan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05/16/2012, 2:45 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby Steve39 on 07/11/2012, 4:17 am

Q:
Jonathan (July 10th, 2012 @ 3:58 pm)
Does anyone know if the text extruder will work with eps or ai shapes/outlines?

A:
Andrew Kramer (July 10th, 2012 @ 4:00 pm)
Not directly. You have to copy and paste them onto a solid as a mask and then it should work.
Steve39
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:14 am

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby futerdan on 07/11/2012, 4:51 am

Thanks for that! Good find ;)

Would someone be able to try it out and let me know how the results are please?
Many thanks!
Free AE Templates and Video Tutorials:
http://www.amigo-productions.com
futerdan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05/16/2012, 2:45 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby futerdan on 07/11/2012, 1:54 pm

OK..
Just wanted to answer my own question in case anyone else is interested in the answer.
I purchased the amazing Element 3D plugin, and the answer is....

WOW! It does an amazing job with with masks on a solid!

Simply copy past your illustrator path onto a solid layer in ae, and use the extrude option just like with text. Really impressive results. In seconds.

I'll try to make a quick video tutorial on that :)
Free AE Templates and Video Tutorials:
http://www.amigo-productions.com
futerdan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05/16/2012, 2:45 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby John816 on 07/11/2012, 2:44 pm

I just tried it too. Awesome. But I also tried it again with 2 masks on the same layer. It got kind of flaky from there. I guess if your logo has multiple parts which you want to shade differently then each mask should go on its own layer and brought into Element on different Layer maps (or whatever they're called.)
John816
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 06/16/2010, 3:14 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby agion1 on 07/11/2012, 4:17 pm

See this thread that also talks about this same issue. Hopefully, we'll get an answer as to what is buggy and what is not meant to be.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=88998

Jonathan
agion1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 09/3/2009, 6:14 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby digitalhecht on 07/12/2012, 4:23 pm

I can confirm this method works and to QUITE AMAZING EFFECT! There is a caveat that it will likely be less problematic to copy paths as masks to separate solid layers. We should all keep an eye on Andrew. Zaxwerks may have a hit out on him!
digitalhecht
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 03/17/2011, 4:58 pm

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby zwergnase on 07/13/2012, 2:18 am

how do you do that?
i imported the ai file into after effects ,made composition
then solid,,,but what next?
zwergnase
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09/7/2009, 11:28 am

Re: Import .ai to elements? (Logo for example)

Postby Thallis on 07/13/2012, 2:39 am

You need to select the vector path inside of Ai , Copy , jump to Ae and select a solid , Paste :)
Thallis
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 02/18/2010, 8:21 am
Location: Denmark


Return to Element 3D