Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/15/2019, 6:13 pm

Hi forum.

I'd like to know, if there is a way to connect 3D stroke (RedGiant plugin) with element 3D? I've tried with the pick whip to connect Element 3D properties, position, opacity, to 3D stroke but nothing seems to be happening.

Thank you.
stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby star+circle on 06/16/2019, 12:47 am

It is possible to connect just about anything to anything in AE, but you have to make sure that the number of dimensions are the same (actually AE does even that automatically in many cases with the pick whip), and that you connect to a property that actually changes over time if you want the connected property to change in sync. Also, you may need to scale the values to be in a suitable range for the target property. Some may be in the range of 0-1 while other may needs to be in the range of hundreds or thousands.
star+circle
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/16/2019, 2:32 am

Hi Circle, thanks for the reply.

I'll post an example soon, I'm currently trying to work it out ( Busting my head over this)!
I hope it can be achieved without a tedious task. I'm sure it's an ordinary technique, but I'm trying to push my limits to incorporate more design
features on a experimental design.
stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/16/2019, 3:26 am

Ok, So I'm going in circles not achieving anything....Tried various techniques hunt for solution on YT but nothing to find a suitable solution.

I've attached a sample clip, (only 1,MB). So as seen the rectangles fly in the scene, and I'm trying to use Redgiant 3D Stroke.
But the strokes are not able to follow element 3D rectangle shapes accordingly. So as the rectangles glide, Im trying to make the strokes follow the perimeter of the rectangles.

And Also attached a file example of how the 3d Stroke would look if it followed element 3D moving rectangles.

https://streamable.com/yalat
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] example for VCP.mp4 [ 81.75 KiB | Viewed 411 times ]

stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby JPT7505 on 06/16/2019, 7:44 pm

Why not just draw the lines yourself, animate with a radial wipe, make the layer 3d and attach that to element.
JPT7505
 
Posts: 893
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM: 128gb

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/17/2019, 2:07 am

Hi, thanks for the response.

I tried following your instructions. But have the following issues occurring.

When the layer with the line(RED) is turned to 3D, it doesnt animate.
I tried pick whipping the layer with Element 3D, it's not animating either.

Can you see some mistake in the screenshot? is this how your instructions are meant to look?

Thanks.
Attachments
VCP_01_JPTS.jpg
stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby JPT7505 on 06/17/2019, 5:41 pm

Precomp it and you don't pick whip to element layer. The layer itself shouldn't be animated, the model within element should be. So create either a master null for element or a null for the respective group you want it to follow. Then attach to that null
JPT7505
 
Posts: 893
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM: 128gb

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby star+circle on 06/17/2019, 11:26 pm

As JPT7505 says, linking to the Element layer directly will do nothing. That is because the layer itself is not moving. The Element 3D objects within it or the camera is.

I would think it would be easier to move the camera in this instance. But if you're aiming for something more complex, you will need group nulls to animate both the objects in Element 3D and the same shapes created with 3D stroke. This is somewhat limited in that you can easily do just 10 objects that way. You CAN do more, but that's a bit complex for starters. "Unified render" would be the keyword if you want to look into that. https://www.videocopilot.net/docs/eleme ... ed_render/
star+circle
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/18/2019, 1:03 am

Hi guys.

I incorporated all your suggestions together, And finally it worked out. One thing was ruining believe it or not the whole scene, making the red lines (radial wipe) which are indicated in the red rectangle, world position XY world position Z. removing the XYZ of element 3D world position, made the red lines follow the 3D object perfectly and all I did was add the camera>null object, the red lines and the 3D shapes followed accordingly.

Sample seen below.

Thanks again for your help guys!

https://streamable.com/jhi5b
stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Re: Red Giant 3D stroke & Element 3D

Postby stefancargoski on 06/18/2019, 1:05 am

Here's a screen shot:
Attachments
VCP_01_JPTS0022.jpg
stefancargoski
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10/5/2018, 8:03 pm
System Specs: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M
16.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti


Return to Element 3D