Page 1 of 1

How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 09/22/2018, 1:14 pm
by Charlier Decker
Hi all,

I did a search for this topic here on the forum and on youtube but could not see anything relevant. If I've missed a thread which already deals with this please point me in the right direction.

I really like the functionality of the orb plug-in, but I'd also like to be able to use it with element 3d, so for example I create an earth with Orb and then use Element to extrude a star shape (or whatever) which I can then have floating around the earth-orb. I've tried something like that already and whichever layer is on top, either Orb or Element, is always the layer which shows through when panning around with the camera. The two layers don't interact in a 3d space.

Is it possible to make them interact?

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 10/6/2018, 7:08 am
by ctarv419
Element and Orb both use After Effects 3D cameras and lights, but they don't interact with each other in 3D space. They render top to bottom in the based on their order in the composition's layer stack. This is similar to how multiple instances of Element on different Solids don't interact with each other. Because the camera works correctly for both, it's relatively simple (although a tiny bit tedious) to cut the layers and swap them back and forth in position in the layer stack based on which one should be showing "on top." For right now, that's the only way to do it. Maybe when E3D v3.0 comes out this will be fixed somehow!

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 03/16/2019, 7:38 pm
by Spacebacon
Any update to this yet? AK said he'd look at ways to do the Universal logo in the Orb tutorial but I know he's a busy guy.

I'd like to animate a logo or model coming out from behind the planet in the Orb tutorial, but am having the same issue as OP.

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 03/16/2019, 7:40 pm
by Spacebacon
...and as I was off to Google other alternatives, I found this. https://www.videocopilot.net/blog/2012/ ... lement-3d/

I'll give it a shot with that.

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 03/17/2019, 9:38 am
by Simon Thorley
Maybe when E3D v3.0 comes out this will be fixed somehow!


THIS! - is the Elephant in the room - the singlular one massive question, that is somehow ignored.

He's either (AK)
1, playing it cool, and not over-talking something.

Or..
2, It's NEVER going to be developed further, and is now finished.

Either way people who have bought and are still buying models have to he right to know - this is only fair!

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 03/17/2019, 10:03 am
by star+circle
As to the original question, here's a couple of possible approaches:

Use the same size sphere in the same location as the Orb sphere in Element and make it a matte shadow material. That way the matte shadow sphere will function as a mask in 3D.

A second approach, since the first one only works with sharp-edged Orbs, would be to duplicate the Orb layer for an alpha matte for Element and use transparency keyframes (0 or 100) to determine whether it should matte out things behind it or not. That would be an "on-off" switch only, so not useful for more complex situations.

The third, rather obvious solution, that will work in every case, would be to do the whole thing in Element instead.

Re: How to use Element 3d with Orb plug-in

PostPosted: 03/26/2019, 2:49 pm
by RJMerritt
Same here, would be great to know if Element is gonna continue to be developed or fall into the abyss of bugs over time. Has anyone noticed that the normal/bump mapping is busted for both Orb and Element? Ive updated my graphics card drives and etc... I am getting just weird issues from it.