light as adjustment layer

Compositing and Motion Graphics

light as adjustment layer

Postby distinct07 on 11/28/2018, 3:27 am

hi all, please reply if some one knows the answer.

I set up a 3d scene_put 2-3 3d text in a scene, cam move from left to right. Point light for ambient + 1-2 spotlights or point lights with different colors over the text.

wen i precomposed a layer with light, its 3d text capabilities get killed with camera, wen i turn on collapse transformation, lights color gets killed over the text.

HOW TO ACHIEVE ONE LIGHT EFFECT OVER A SINGLE TEXT/ LAYER N DOESN"T AFFECT THE THE OTHERS, Expecially in 3d scene?

OR

IF use light as adjustment layer, the following all layers will affect with it,
distinct07
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 05/28/2018, 7:34 pm
System Specs: Intel 3.0ghz 32 thread PC, with 64 gigs of ram and a Quadrro 6000.

Re: light as adjustment layer

Postby ctarv419 on 11/28/2018, 7:21 am

Do you want some lights to affect all layers and other lights to just affect some layers? If you don't need the other layers to be affected by the lights you could just un-check "Accepts Lights" on those layers in the timeline, I think it's in the materials rollout. If you need some lights to affect some layers and other lights to affect other layers that seems a little more tricky. Seems like there should be a way though. I'll see if I can play with it and figure something out when I get home from work.
I really miss being able to have an Avatar : (
ctarv419
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 02/1/2014, 10:25 pm
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana USA
Twitter: ctarv419
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2160.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 10.0.17134

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X 16-Core Processor
RAM: 65410MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: TITAN Xp/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 24.21.13.9836
GPU RAM: 12288MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: TITAN Xp (100.0%) (GL Interop)

Re: light as adjustment layer

Postby ender772 on 12/3/2018, 3:49 pm

Are you new to after effects and element 3d? I cant really figure out what you are trying to ask. ..delete all lights and create a spotlight. use 3 perspective view to line up this light with the one text . perhaps the spread of the light is too much...you change that by double clicking on the light..make sure you have no exta lights on under render settings - addition lighting...you do want this turned off. so dont turn it on..if you still have problems then also here is a enviroment light adjuster set to 25%..change that setting if you need it
ender772
 
Posts: 380
Joined: 04/19/2013, 3:52 pm

Re: light as adjustment layer

Postby star+circle on 12/9/2018, 2:53 am

VCP has a script called "3d precompose" which handles this exact problem. Search the blog for it.
star+circle
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland


Return to After Effects