Issue with masks and Element 3D wireframe

Compositing and Motion Graphics

Issue with masks and Element 3D wireframe

Postby joshthrbc on 02/16/2019, 1:28 pm

Hello, it's been a while since I've been on the forums here! Just getting back into doing so After Effects stuff and I've been playing around with Element 3D and it's been great. I'm trying to do something and I'm having some trouble figuring out how to go about this.

Basically I've take the Monitor speaker model from the Sound 3D pack for Element 3D and duplicated it in my AE comp. I've set one instance of it to the Pointcloud render setting and one to the Wireframe. Then, I'm trying to use a mask to basically "connect the dots" with the wireframe copy. The issue is, no matter how I have my mask set, it's always a square, if that makes sense? I've attached a picture of what I mean. I'm not sure how to best describe the issue but the mask is not reveling the layer it's on based on where my mask is, but it's always doing so as far as each point goes.

Image
dice flipper

I know that I did a terrible job describing this issue but hopefully the picture will make sense. Any help is appreciated.
joshthrbc
 
Posts: 330
Joined: 10/7/2008, 6:50 pm

Re: Issue with masks and Element 3D wireframe

Postby JPT7505 on 02/17/2019, 5:12 am

You have to precompose the layer for masks to work as normal.
JPT7505
 
Posts: 879
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM: 128gb

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: Issue with masks and Element 3D wireframe

Postby joshthrbc on 02/17/2019, 12:23 pm

Thank you! That fixed the issue.
joshthrbc
 
Posts: 330
Joined: 10/7/2008, 6:50 pm

Re: Issue with masks and Element 3D wireframe

Postby star+circle on 03/7/2019, 11:00 am

Or you can put the masks on a separate layer and use that as a track matte.
star+circle
 
Posts: 916
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland


Return to After Effects