problems with masking greys

A place for beginners to start

problems with masking greys

Postby gunnahafta on 03/19/2016, 8:54 pm

Hi,

I'm still new to AE and trying out things. I want to do a sky replacement and tried many of the tutorials but they all assume blown out sky. I want to replace a dark grey sky and the usual ways don't seem to cut it. I tried a mask but the results aren't great because of trees\leave and harsh lines. I tried a key type method but too much grey in the rest of the movie. Please help.
Attachments
background.jpg
Attached a small screen shot from the video.
gunnahafta

Re: problems with masking greys

Postby JPT7505 on 03/20/2016, 12:23 pm

You'd have to try a combo of keying and masking to get it to work and you may need to do this several times and seperate portions of the scene and tackle them one at a time.
JPT7505

System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM: 128gb

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Postby gregalan on 03/20/2016, 6:53 pm

Hi gunnhafta. As JPT wisely says you may need to do small sections at a time but, depending on what sky you are replacing it with, it could be simpler - be aware that if you are replacing it with a darker sky you will inevitably end up with grey fringes around the fine details which will require extremely detailed work (and normally having to lose a lot of the detail).

However you might be able to:
Create two masks so that you end up with a sliver of the roof/tree line;

garbage masks .jpg

With the masks set to Subtract add the Brightness and Contrast effect (my example has Contrast at 71). You want to create a strong black and white image - no greys - but at the same time losing as little detail as you can.

b&w matte.jpg

Then add a copy of your footage underneath and copy the sky mask onto this layer. In its TrkMat box set it to Luma Inverted and set the mask's Mask Expansion to 2.
You should end up with this:

matted.jpg

Anyway it should give you a starting point.
gregalan