How to create a sliding effect

A place for beginners to start

How to create a sliding effect

Postby dannybardan007 on 02/25/2016, 7:10 am

Heya AE pros out there.. a newbie to AE here.. I want to create a effect in which two layers seems to be splitting by sliding but when I tried to animate the position ( y axis) it doesn't work. Is there any tips/tricks to achieve this. Thank you.
Attachments
slidingAnimation.jpg
dannybardan007
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2016, 6:52 am
System Specs: i3 4GB RAM 500GB HD

Re: How to create a sliding effect

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 02/25/2016, 12:44 pm

I don't understand. Why not animate on the x-axis?
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8275
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: How to create a sliding effect

Postby Grunt360360 on 02/25/2016, 1:33 pm

Hey Micheal, Welcome to the vast world of After Effects! To achieve this you should try making the solid bigger and animate the solid's position, not the mask's.
My youtube channel is http://www.youtube.com/user/SkiMaskBros101
My serious VFX Tutorial Youtube channel is https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7tPejcmsDo0AIcrcHHEGpQ
Grunt360360 Productions
Grunt360360
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 09/23/2014, 7:31 pm
Location: Perm, Russia
System Specs: Windows 7
CPU: Intel i5 7600k
CPU Fan: Cooler Master 212 Evo
GPU: Factory refurbished MSI GTX 970
RAM: Corsair 16gb DDR4

Re: How to create a sliding effect

Postby dannybardan007 on 02/25/2016, 5:40 pm

Grunt360360 wrote:Hey Micheal, Welcome to the vast world of After Effects! To achieve this you should try making the solid bigger and animate the solid's position, not the mask's.


Hey Grunt 360360 , can you give a little more detail I still couldnt figure out. cheers.
dannybardan007
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2016, 6:52 am
System Specs: i3 4GB RAM 500GB HD

Re: How to create a sliding effect

Postby krisq on 02/26/2016, 3:58 am

Did you click the stopwatch to insert keyframes? Screen shows that you didn't. Besides, as guys mentioned, animate position of the layer, not mask.
krisq
 
Posts: 409
Joined: 08/3/2008, 9:52 am

Re: How to create a sliding effect

Postby Grunt360360 on 03/9/2016, 12:02 pm

Sorry for not being very clear, Try setting the solids scale to a larger size(click the dropdown arrow on the layer to find it), and then click the little stopwatch next to the position, then move to another place in the timeline and put it in the desired location. Please if you need anymore help just ask.
My youtube channel is http://www.youtube.com/user/SkiMaskBros101
My serious VFX Tutorial Youtube channel is https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7tPejcmsDo0AIcrcHHEGpQ
Grunt360360 Productions
Grunt360360
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 09/23/2014, 7:31 pm
Location: Perm, Russia
System Specs: Windows 7
CPU: Intel i5 7600k
CPU Fan: Cooler Master 212 Evo
GPU: Factory refurbished MSI GTX 970
RAM: Corsair 16gb DDR4


Return to After Effects Fundamentals (Beginners)

cron