How to Create a Blinking Red Dot?

A place for beginners to start

How to Create a Blinking Red Dot?

Postby socialmohshi on 07/10/2015, 2:37 am

Hello guys!
This is my first post to the forums, so please excuse me if I have posted this topic in the wrong channel.

I am a filmmaker, who is experimenting with VFX for the first time, so I'm absolutely clueless about how these things work.

Learning softwares has not been a problem for me, but the need to use After Effects or any other VFX related software has not risen in my filmmaking days, until today.

So this might be the most amateur post out there, but I wish to ask the community for help, since I wish to learn everything about VFX from scratch.

The need-
I wish to create a blinking red light that is shaped in the form of a dot.

After creating it, I wish to place it on all the areas I have pasted a green/blue dot on certain accessories to replace them with the red blinking light.

It would be great if someone could help point me in the right direction to execute this.

Looking forward to the response.

Thank you Videocopilot community.

= )
socialmohshi

System Specs: MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012)
Processor : 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Starupdisk: Macintosh HD
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB

Re: How to Create a Blinking Red Dot?

Postby gregalan on 07/10/2015, 8:28 pm

Hi socialmohshi, welcome. Yours is a hard question to answer as there are many ways to do what you want to do but all require some knowledge of After Effects.
If you haven't any of the basics then I would recommend you start with these tutorials - which are very old but they are quick and will give you some idea of what you are doing:
http://www.videocopilot.net/basic/

Once you've done that and to answer your question, the simplest way (though probably not the best way, depending on your footage and the look you want to achieve) could be this:
Duplicate your footage in the timeline
Pre-compose the top layer