Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Help with Video Copilot website and discussion

Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby Dr_Fuinke on 07/26/2012, 1:36 pm

I'm trying to brush up on my after effects skills and just got the Adobe cs6 collection. Is there anyway to open the tutorial projects in CS6 or do I need to manually build the projects myself using the files in the .zips?
Dr_Fuinke
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 07/26/2012, 1:32 pm

Re: Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 07/27/2012, 6:42 am

Do the project files not open?
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8296
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby Dr_Fuinke on 07/27/2012, 9:20 am

Michael_Szalapski wrote:Do the project files not open?


No. I get a message saying the project was created with a previous version of After Effects. I can convert the file by opening with an older version of after effects and resaving.

I've been doing the first few tutorials just building the projects myself, but I'm not sure if it will cause a problem if/when I reach stuff I'm not sure how they built.
Dr_Fuinke
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 07/26/2012, 1:32 pm

Re: Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby klaus brandenburg on 09/18/2012, 10:22 am

AE autamatically converts projects created with previous versions. Always did, always will (I hope).
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 09/20/2012, 11:00 am

Well, if a version of AE was too old, it won't open them. But I thought CS6 opened ones done in CS3... Which tutorials are you trying to open?
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8296
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Any way to Load Tutorial Projects in CS6?

Postby Dustin Hudson on 09/21/2012, 9:44 am

I think CS6 won't open After Effects 7 projects (the version before CS3). There's a couple of older tutorials that use this version, we'll update it soon. They should open in CS5 though, and CS3 projects should open in any newer version. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud


Return to VC Website Support