Big ben explosion test

Post unfinished videos and tests

Big ben explosion test

Postby Tom1000 on 08/6/2008, 10:03 am

Ive had a go at creating an explosion using only after effects. Im sure 3d programs could do better but i wanted to see if it could be done ok in after effects. I spent ages doing this :P so please comment on what u think of it :).

Tom1000
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 08/3/2008, 1:31 pm

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby DoomLike on 08/6/2008, 10:46 am

not so bad

but not very realistic

I think that the camera shake is the most responsable

A camera doesn't move like that.
Sorry for i don't speak very well, I'm french :)
DoomLike
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 08/2/2008, 3:12 am
Location: France

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby Tom1000 on 08/6/2008, 12:34 pm

yea i agree, I tryed loads of diffrent things but it still dosent look realistic. I think its due to being a jpg photo more than anything. Prehaps ill try again another time with actuall footage this way i wont have to fake it being footage :P makes it 10x harder.
Tom1000
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 08/3/2008, 1:31 pm

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby Seth Johnson on 08/7/2008, 9:45 pm

this actually looks like a really good opportunity to try our favorite VFX Host's tutorial on 3D images with paralax..
Seth Johnson
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 08/7/2008, 3:39 pm

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby mickoin on 08/9/2008, 3:08 am

You need a pretty insane wiggle on the camera move at the point of the explosion.
Looks like you've just gone in and manually key framed the camera shake at the explosion - wiggle would do you wonders.
mickoin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 08/8/2008, 8:38 pm

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby narenn on 08/9/2008, 10:20 pm

For something like this, you really need to use a 3d app. Overall pretty good for only using AE.

Like they said ^^^, cameras generally don't shake like that.

And, to really help sell the idea, add more smoke or something to the building. Because even though there was an explosion, after the smoke clears, you can tell the tower was undamaged. (This is why I say use a 3D app, you could composite debris exploding, and add some destruction to the tower).
narenn
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 1246
Joined: 08/1/2008, 8:57 pm
Twitter: http://twitter.com/narennaidoo

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby JUMPINGBEAN on 08/9/2008, 10:27 pm

looks good for something that might be on the sci fi channel ;-) :-D ... still cool though.... did u say ages?
JUMPINGBEAN
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 08/6/2008, 11:17 am
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby Bloodnick on 08/11/2008, 4:38 pm

Try making a separate 3D layer of every element in the shot :) You can probably use tutorial #46 as guidance for this, that'll help a little witht the depth :D
Bloodnick
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 08/2/2008, 5:19 am

Re: Big ben explosion test

Postby bwoogie on 08/11/2008, 5:16 pm

The explosion exploded too slow. And the camera shake was weird. I think if you do camera movements like that, you should go all out and maybe even flip the image horizontally on each camera movement. just to give it that weird unsuspecting creepy feel.
It would have been a lot better if you had actual video footage to work with.
The reset button was my idea.
bwoogie
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: 08/1/2008, 7:30 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bwoogie


Return to Work in Progress