Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Post unfinished videos and tests

Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby bduder on 12/3/2015, 9:52 pm

I've been working a lot in Element and really trying to see how far I can push it. I've got a personal side project I've been working on that has a lot of fun Star Wars stuff. I had to create a street in the Mos Eisley Spaceport. It was laid out and rendered with Element and Optical Flares. The spaceport is a combination of some simple models I made, combined with a bunch of additional elements created using the Motion Pack 2 models. The tie fighter-looking ship (center screen) was created using only Motion Pack 2 models. The Falcon and XWing models were purchased. A few smoke elements from the Action Essentials pack are in there as well. All textures are from or based on the Pro Shaders pack.

The Falcon flying above the clouds was also done with Element. It's the same Falcon model I purchased over a cloud plate I shot with my phone from a plane. A little sun with Optical Flare was added as well.

Still some more tweaks to be made (if I have the time), but so far I'm really impressed with what can be done just using Element.

mos_eisley (0-00-02-00).jpg
Mos Eisley spaceport.

falcon_chase 2 (0-00-01-17).jpg
Falcon flying through clouds.
bduder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12/3/2015, 9:30 pm
System Specs: Intel Core i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 4 cores, 8 Logical Processors
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 64 GB RAM
64 gigs RAM
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby Dan Hildebrand on 12/7/2015, 11:07 am

Looks really nice so far dude!!
Q: Why did the layer cross the composition?
A: To get to the keyframe on the other side!!!
Dan Hildebrand
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 05/21/2012, 11:09 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
System Specs: OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 6.1.7601

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
RAM: 32707MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GTX 980

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby Carsten on 12/9/2015, 10:06 am

Yes, it looks great.
You can add some heatdistortion and motionblur. ;)
Carsten
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 11/12/2012, 4:06 pm
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.1 (2125)
AE CS5

OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit 6.1.7601

CPU: i7-5820K CPU @ 3.80GHz
RAM: 32663MB

GPU: EVGA GTX 970 SSC

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby bduder on 12/19/2015, 10:15 am

Here are a couple more Star Wars images. Both rendered completely in After Effects using Element 3d. The specular might be a bit too high on BB8.

bbInHall (0-00-02-01).jpg

r2d2 (0-00-03-16).jpg
bduder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12/3/2015, 9:30 pm
System Specs: Intel Core i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 4 cores, 8 Logical Processors
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 64 GB RAM
64 gigs RAM
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby bduder on 12/29/2015, 7:29 pm

Not sure if I should start a new thread or just continue this thread, but...

Here's another still frame render. I was trying to copy the image that's out there from the original Star Wars film. Falcon and tie fighters rendered with Element. The tie fighters are actually just pieces from the Motion Design 2 pack that I slapped together. I didn't have a good tie fighter model to use. Lasers are just roto shapes with a glow, background is just an image of a desert I found online. Overall glow might be a bit too heavy...

falconTieShot (0-00-00-01).jpg
bduder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12/3/2015, 9:30 pm
System Specs: Intel Core i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 4 cores, 8 Logical Processors
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 64 GB RAM
64 gigs RAM
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby Benelement on 09/2/2016, 9:54 am

Looks fantastic! How did you achieve the shadows?
Benelement
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 08/10/2016, 1:00 am
System Specs: Intel Core i7 5820k, GeForce GTX 1070, 32GB RAM

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby FrankyKnuckles on 09/12/2016, 8:51 pm

Cool are you just doing this for graphic design purposes? Is that why you haven't rendered any animation or video?
FrankyKnuckles
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 01/1/2015, 10:32 pm

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby bduder on 10/4/2016, 7:52 pm

Benelement wrote:Looks fantastic! How did you achieve the shadows?

Not sure what you mean...the shadows on the Falcon? This was rendered with ray tracing shadows turned on for both regular and ambient shadows.

FrankyKnuckles wrote:Cool are you just doing this for graphic design purposes? Is that why you haven't rendered any animation or video?

Most were animated, some were stills. I was working on a Star Wars themed video invite for a party. I put together a little montage of some of the renders I have. The Mos Eisley shot was never finished. I had a lot of problems with the crowds shifting in space (you can see several versions in the video), and ultimately had to give up because at the time it was too much for my computer. I've since upgraded. Maybe I should go back and try to finish. Oh, and I never was able to figure out the flickering shadows issue. I seem to run into that a lot. You can see it on the Falcon shots. Anyone else ever experience that? I believe I narrowed it down to raytraced ambient shadows.

COMPILATION OF ANIMATED CLIPS:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITR18qFRxpw
Last edited by bduder on 10/7/2016, 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bduder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12/3/2015, 9:30 pm
System Specs: Intel Core i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 4 cores, 8 Logical Processors
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 64 GB RAM
64 gigs RAM
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby boxtree on 10/7/2016, 4:49 pm

Just watched your compilation video. You've achieved a really nice look on some of those shots!

Would be great to see a behind the scenes on your process.
boxtree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 11/23/2012, 3:35 pm
Location: UK

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby bduder on 10/11/2016, 6:57 am

boxtree wrote:Just watched your compilation video. You've achieved a really nice look on some of those shots!

Would be great to see a behind the scenes on your process.


Thanks! If I have time I can try to post some of the process. I think Mr Kramer covers most of it pretty well in his tutorials. I don't think I'm doing anything he hasn't demonstrated with his Element videos. But, I did find a few tricks for getting better results from third party models I could share. I'll see if I can dig up the project files and put something together. I might even go back and finish that Mos Eisley shot. I think a lot of the problems I was having that prevented me from finishing were due to memory issues. Maybe with my new upgrades that won't be a problem anymore.
bduder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12/3/2015, 9:30 pm
System Specs: Intel Core i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 4 cores, 8 Logical Processors
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 64 GB RAM
64 gigs RAM
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Star Wars renders using Element 3d (personal project)

Postby boxtree on 10/14/2016, 12:26 pm

That would be awesome. I know you say Andrew has covered a lot of it, but you seem to have some really nice touches that havnt been covered as such.

Some bits I'd be interested in seeing more about are:

StormTrooper Scenes from 00:59- you can see its models, but the overall aesthetic is very filmic.
R2D2 scene straight after (I cant fault that, it could be from a Star Wars Film)

You've got something really nice going on with the lighting on those scenes, doesn't look like element!
Perhaps its Framing, or animation, not sure! Whatever it is , it works and I would really like to see more.

Would love to see how you achieved those looks in particular, but any workflow tips you can share would be welcome.

Ill reply to this post with some screenshots of a fun video Im making for my nephew who lives in Australia. Hes a big star wars fan and visited this summer and decided on the last day he wanted to make a video so we grabbed some quick footage that I have been messing about with.
boxtree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 11/23/2012, 3:35 pm
Location: UK


Return to Work in Progress

cron