SLI question please

For Windows, Apple, displays, mouse pads etc.

SLI question please

Postby badmonk on 02/17/2017, 4:16 am

yo guys

ok I have used mac for years and yes I still love apple BUT because lately of the not so great support re AMD and adobe software I went and bought a spanking new windows PC and I LOVE IT!!
now because I aint used windows for ages, I got a pretty nice system (Omen X) and it has SLI dual GTX 1080's which I know some programs like after effects and blender don't utilize SLI but I wanted to ask a question please?

Is there any way and sorry for the noob question but like I said I have never had a system with dual GFX cards before, that I can use one card for rendering in blender for eg and the other so I can edit or work in prem pro or AE?

any info would be great!! thanks
badmonk
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: SLI question please

Postby badmonk on 02/19/2017, 6:01 am

anyone please?
badmonk
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: SLI question please

Postby Farmfield on 02/19/2017, 7:13 am

Sure, in AE it'll automatically use your primary GPU, the one with monitor one and in the Blender preferences you'll just set Cycles to use card 2 for GPU rendering.

That being said, you have no way to use the second card for viewport acceleration in Blender, so if you are doing heavy rendering in After Effects, it will use the first card, thus viewport performance in Blender will be affected - even to the point where it might be unusable. But, set to use only GPU 2, however heavy (GPU-) render you do in Blender/Cycles, you'll never notice that working in After Effects.

And SLI will have no impact on this whatsoever as that is a game-only functionality, or how the heck you'd put it - either way, it's just nothing that is (or ever will be) used outside gaming.
*** Demos, RnD & tests: www.vimeo.com/farmfield ***
Farmfield
 
Posts: 2285
Joined: 06/8/2014, 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: SLI question please

Postby badmonk on 02/19/2017, 9:47 am

Farmfield wrote:Sure, in AE it'll automatically use your primary GPU, the one with monitor one and in the Blender preferences you'll just set Cycles to use card 2 for GPU rendering.

That being said, you have no way to use the second card for viewport acceleration in Blender, so if you are doing heavy rendering in After Effects, it will use the first card, thus viewport performance in Blender will be affected - even to the point where it might be unusable. But, set to use only GPU 2, however heavy (GPU-) render you do in Blender/Cycles, you'll never notice that working in After Effects.

And SLI will have no impact on this whatsoever as that is a game-only functionality, or how the heck you'd put it - either way, it's just nothing that is (or ever will be) used outside gaming.


ahh that explains a lot, thank you so much for replying :)
badmonk
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)


Return to Computer Hardware & Technology