Reduce the size of footage

Discuss Video Copilot Tutorials & Presets

Reduce the size of footage

Postby rahmanpadne on 12/9/2011, 2:07 am

hey buddies i am just making a short movie...but the problem is when i rendered out the footage,its size always becoming something like around 25 or 30 Gb.so anyone can see how can i fit this footage on a dvd or should i change any of the settings?but i want good hd clarity ...please help me...
rahmanpadne
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 06/16/2011, 10:18 pm

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 12/9/2011, 7:51 am

You take that lovely, lossless file you render and pop that into the Adobe Media Encoder to make your final, compressed file.

This page has more info.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby McCloud on 12/9/2011, 1:11 pm

And where can I get that Media Encoder? Becuase I have this exact same problem, that without any conversion done in ae, the file is extremly large and when I try to compress it, it gets smaller but also looses quality. I also heard sony Vegas has good rendering, so it's good quality+small size, but it didn't work for me (maybe I only had bad output settings?)
As I was looking on google, the Media Encoder should be included with Ae, but I couldn't find it anywhere...

Thanks
McCloud
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 10/19/2011, 7:57 am

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 12/9/2011, 4:12 pm

It comes with the Production Suite or the Master Suite.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby Faust on 12/9/2011, 7:15 pm

Michael_Szalapski wrote:It comes with the Production Suite or the Master Suite.


Or just Premiere Pro.
I have dual citizenship with the United States and Florida.


http://chariotdrive.com/
Faust
 
Posts: 1843
Joined: 07/29/2009, 12:56 pm
Location: Bay Area/Los Angeles CA
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Zeke_Faust
System Specs: Intel 4930k 6-Core 3.4 GHz
GIGABYTE GTX 1080
32GB RAM
2x240GB Samsung SSD
1TB Samsung SSD

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby McCloud on 12/10/2011, 7:30 am

lol, I searched for it on my pc and I had it already >-|| :mrgreen:
Ok, so there's a bunch of different encoding options and presets. I've seen some tutorials on youtube for best settings, but what would you say as a more experienced user? Because I tried h264 but then the final video lost some quality and colors were very washed out. And I don't know why, because those guys on youtube also used the same settings, but the video was very good quality, unlike mine. Maybe I do something wrong in rendering in ae. But I only render uncompressed avi, so I don't know where the problem is.

Here I send 2 examples of uncopressed and compressed video:
http://i39.tinypic.com/wbw31e.jpg

http://i41.tinypic.com/1fa96r.jpg
McCloud
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 10/19/2011, 7:57 am

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 12/12/2011, 8:03 am

There can be gamma issues with h.264 video. Google it, there are several solutions depending on what the problem is. The Adobe Media Encoder has some YouTube presets, try them out.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby McCloud on 12/15/2011, 8:52 am

ok. I searched for something on google, but everything with h264 is connected to quick time, which I don't really use. I also tried to bring down the gamma in original footage in ae, to compensate the h264 gamma change but after the compression, it looked even more shit. I also saw a codec x264, but for that I'd need some aditional programs to use.
Is there no easier way how to produce good compressed video? I suppose you have some years of practice... how do you output all your vids? eg for web, clients etc.
McCloud
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 10/19/2011, 7:57 am

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 12/15/2011, 10:00 am

McCloud wrote:everything with h264 is connected to quick time, which I don't really use.

Well, you're using h.264 so you should start using Quicktime. Quicktime Pro is only $30. It's super useful and well worth the money.

McCloud wrote:I suppose you have some years of practice...

I do have years of practice and experience! Thanks for noticing. :) In fact, I have over 10 years of working with Adobe Software.

McCloud wrote:how do you output all your vids? eg for web, clients etc.

I don't output them all the same. Different projects require different deliverables.
For h.264, if I'm having gamma issues, I fix them. Usually the fix involves using Quicktime Pro.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Reduce the size of footage

Postby McCloud on 12/16/2011, 10:04 am

ok, cheers ;)
McCloud
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 10/19/2011, 7:57 am


Return to VC Tutorials & Presets