Page 1 of 1

3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/4/2008, 3:09 pm
by vaiguy
I have done everything in Andrew's tut but mine just wont cast shadows, any help?

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/4/2008, 4:08 pm
by vaiguy
The only way to get the shadow is to turn on the "Accept Lights" option in my BG layer. But than I get this...

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/4/2008, 4:55 pm
by vaiguy
I figured it out, thanks for all your help. :roll:

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/4/2008, 9:41 pm
by dannystern
This is discussed in the Free tuts section of the forum... sometimes the point light doesn't work and you can try change it to a spot light when you turn off the accepts lights switch

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/4/2008, 10:39 pm
by Andrew Kramer
Moved. some people use a spot light and be sure to turn on adaptive resolution.

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/5/2008, 6:41 am
by Ninja
how come the point light doesnt always work in this context?
is there a work around to make it work rather than using the spot light?

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/5/2008, 7:06 am
by aleph
It is an openGL bug. With certain graphic cardrs only spotlights casts shadows. No shadow difussion ither

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/6/2008, 2:54 am
by Ramzes
Hello. You should bring up the intensity of light - it works for me. (sorry my english sucks) ;) .

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/7/2008, 7:49 pm
by kira
i did the 3D tutorial text with shadows but i dont know how to export the image how can i save it/export it? im looking in the menu but theres just avi, mov, per frames, etc but i can find for example save as jpg or something so im confused because its just one photo with 3d text shadows.

acabo de hacer el tutorial de texto en 3d con sombras pero como exporto la imagen? no veo alguna opcion solo exportar a mov avi y por frames pero no una opcion para exportar una imagen.

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/7/2008, 8:20 pm
by GlowMaker
you should set your comp. to 1 frame and then export as a sequence of images

debes poner tu composicion a 1 solo frame, y luego exportar en secuencia de imagenes :D

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/16/2008, 9:10 am
by aleph
go to composition/save frame as

Re: 3D Shadows

PostPosted: 08/16/2008, 9:46 am
by bwoogie
I'm not having any luck with casting shadows from text... I've done it with vectors imported from illustrator. But I just can't get text layers to cast shadows. I've tried all the different lights and positions.. What is wrong?