Page 1 of 1

SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 09/29/2018, 2:53 am
by Duca
Hi everybody,
I'd like to link Saber to a Null 3D tracker to create a blaster going out a Firelock. I tried to link Core End parameter on the mouth of the Firelock but it doensn't work , of course, because Core End in a only 2D parameter. Then I tried to transform Saber i a 3D Layer but it becomes enormous..., and when I scaled it it not so easy to work with in.
Anyone has a good solution about?
Many thanks for a reply!

Re: SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 09/29/2018, 6:44 am
by ctarv419
Can you do a 2D motion track of the point in the scene you want to attach the saber to then attach the Core End or Core Start to that point via a null?

Re: SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 09/29/2018, 7:02 am
by Duca
I spent a lot of time to do e 3d track... :(

Re: SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 05/25/2019, 2:25 pm
by bottlewalker
I think this might be helpful for you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRkYP7wnD40

Re: SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 06/14/2019, 5:36 am
by Duca
bottlewalker wrote:I think this might be helpful for you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRkYP7wnD40

Very interesting, but I didn't understand the core of the problem...
maybe have I to build a 3d "cube" with the Prolost VectorKit, precompose it and then link it to the 3D NULL.
But after that...?

Re: SABER linket to 3d Null...

PostPosted: 10/3/2019, 12:23 pm
by LeeGW
Hi, I came across this post while looking for this exact thing. In my search, I found this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFbpJpEBkhY

The guy uses an expression to convert a point in 3D space to where it would be in 2D space within the comp. I'm sure I'm not explaining that right. But, it worked for me. I was able to link the Core start and end points to a 3D motion path, and a 3D null object. When I rotate my camera around, it works perfectly. I did have to do a little manipulating of the 2D layer that Saber is on, just to get it to line up right. So maybe I didn't do it all the way I should, but it works. Hope this helps.