Page 1 of 1

Trapcode Particular layer issue

PostPosted: 08/25/2016, 4:30 pm
by scottyriggz
Hey,
I'm following this tut http://www.videocopilot.net/flightschool/jet_contrails and at 8.08 it says to put the layer containing the smoke stream below the layer that the model is placed on.

When I do this, the smoke layer disappears completely. What did I do wrong?!?!?!

Re: Trapcode Particular layer issue

PostPosted: 08/26/2016, 1:44 pm
by Michael_Szalapski
Does your model layer have transparency? Do you see the smoke trail layer if you turn the model layer's visibility off?

Re: Trapcode Particular layer issue

PostPosted: 08/26/2016, 9:30 pm
by scottyriggz
I've worked out the issue, but it doesn't help.

The solid that my model is on, has the environment turned on in Element. So it's that layer that is hiding the smoke.
Turned it off, and the smoke was now visible.
While I'm glad I figured it out it still leaves me with a problem which is: I've had to make the sky an environment layer and it doesn't look as good compared to how Element created it.

Re: Trapcode Particular layer issue

PostPosted: 08/26/2016, 10:44 pm
by star+circle
Use two layers with Element, one with the model, the other with the environment, and sandwich the particular layer between them.

Re: Trapcode Particular layer issue

PostPosted: 08/27/2016, 12:17 am
by scottyriggz
Yup, that's what I thought I'd do! Haven't tried it yet but I'm sure it'll work out fine.