Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Discuss Video Copilot Tutorials & Presets

Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby harryt on 08/9/2008, 2:37 am

Hey all.

I had a question for the "Speed Particles" tutorial.

I'm still new to AE CS3, but how would I be able to change text after the particle breaks apart.

Eg. Particles blast.. text is shown. Particles blast again... and new text is shown..

I wanted to write up a credit list this way... so any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
harryt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08/9/2008, 2:33 am

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby zStudio on 08/9/2008, 3:18 am

precompose the textlayer and add different texts inside it. then simply just animate the wiggle and the opacity with another slider.
Z-Studio
- Break The Limit
zStudio
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 08/1/2008, 6:12 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby harryt on 08/9/2008, 3:13 pm

Hey thanks for the tips.

I know how to precompose layers, but the issue I have is adding multiple text in it.

Using the Project file Andrew has as an example.

That precomposed layer has one text in it eg. VideoCoPilot. If I add more text in that precomposed layer, it will show that text along with VideoCoPilot..... Is there a way to enable and disable text displays?

I'm hoping I don't have to precompose tons and tons of text? because I am making a credit list, which has about 20-30 names...
harryt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08/9/2008, 2:33 am

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby zStudio on 08/9/2008, 4:50 pm

just add a text layer and drag it further away in the timeline so it shows after the first text.
Z-Studio
- Break The Limit
zStudio
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 08/1/2008, 6:12 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby bwoogie on 08/9/2008, 7:48 pm

You can keyframe the Source Text I believe :)
The reset button was my idea.
bwoogie
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: 08/1/2008, 7:30 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bwoogie

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby harryt on 08/9/2008, 9:50 pm

Okay.. it doesn't seem to be working.

I'm using the project file Andrew created.

I opened the composition layer "Shake Me Comp 1" and added another text layer. In the composition I changed the time line, so text 2 shows after one is done.

Is there anything else I am missing?
harryt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08/9/2008, 2:33 am

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby harryt on 08/9/2008, 10:00 pm

Alrighty.. after screwing around and learning more about the keyframes setup.

You also need to add keyframes for the wiggle/slider and add more. Then the new text will pop up... Well.. since I need to make a credit list.. I'm gonna need to make a CRAP load of keyframes lol :o

I still am having issues with the particles... moving the keyframes sometimes screw it up.. I assume because the speed is to low or the text is moving/wiggling much... :?
harryt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08/9/2008, 2:33 am

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby bwoogie on 08/10/2008, 5:47 am

DO NOT ADD ANOTHER TEXT LAYER (sorry for caps)

1 Twirl down your text layer.
2 Twirl Down Text
3 Click the stopwatch on Source Text at the beginning of your Comp
4 Then go to where you want the text to change and simply change the text.
The reset button was my idea.
bwoogie
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: 08/1/2008, 7:30 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bwoogie

Re: Speed Particles (Tutorial 70)

Postby zStudio on 08/10/2008, 5:57 am

bwoogie wrote:DO NOT ADD ANOTHER TEXT LAYER (sorry for caps)

1 Twirl down your text layer.
2 Twirl Down Text
3 Click the stopwatch on Source Text at the beginning of your Comp
4 Then go to where you want the text to change and simply change the text.


forgot that you can do that :oops:
Z-Studio
- Break The Limit
zStudio
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 08/1/2008, 6:12 pm
Location: Sweden


Return to VC Tutorials & Presets