Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby Bink on 02/8/2012, 4:42 am

Hey all,

Been on my mind the last few days since I began dual booting Windows 7 and Mac OS X... What is the better codec? Avid DNxHD or ProRes 422 HQ?

Also, which codec does VC tend to use?

Peace! :-}=
Bink
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 05/21/2009, 4:17 am

Re: Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 02/8/2012, 7:56 am

DNxHD is much better if you have a PC. :P

They're both lossless. Why not try encoding the same video with both codecs then check the file size and see how your machine handles playback on your timeline? That should give you a fairly quick idea of which is better for you.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby Bink on 02/9/2012, 12:33 am

Michael_Szalapski wrote:DNxHD is much better if you have a PC. :P

They're both lossless. Why not try encoding the same video with both codecs then check the file size and see how your machine handles playback on your timeline? That should give you a fairly quick idea of which is better for you.


Was going to give it a shot. Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it. What's best for exporting Avid? MC or third party?
Bink
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 05/21/2009, 4:17 am

Re: Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby tony on 02/9/2012, 1:51 am

Avid provides you with the codec in for both windows and mac so you can use what ever you have. Usually I convert all my stuff to DNxHD using Mpeg Streamclip. But then again any program can render to Avid (ei After Effects, Premiere, ect..)
I make pixels twerk.
http://www.AntonioRodriguez.co
tony
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: 09/1/2008, 12:36 am

Re: Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 02/10/2012, 9:27 am

What Tony said.
Once you install the codecs from Avid, you can use any of your video software to render in DNxHD.
I know lots of people who render to it from AE as their intermediate codec of choice.
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Avid DNxHD vs ProRes 422 HQ

Postby jax_rox on 02/11/2012, 4:12 pm

It's pretty simple:

If you're using FCP, use ProRes; if you're using Avid, use DNxHD.

They're both very good, and both have the gamut of options from low bitrate to high bitrate and low quality proxy to high quality render.

If you're not working in either FCP or Avid, then choose the one that will give you a smaller file size.. Or, use DNxHD if you're running on PC ;)

I've done a bit of reading up on the differences between the two and based on some tests I've seen around, the quality difference between the two codecs (using comparable settings at each 'level') is small, if noticeable at all.
jax_rox
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 12/23/2008, 8:42 am

Re: Drug Withdraws Oxycotin

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 02/13/2012, 7:49 am

poorypsudiods wrote:Lamisil can cause some unwanted side effects.

But what about Teamocil?
Image
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression