Page 1 of 1

How to export 8 channel MXF OP1a for broadcasting

PostPosted: 04/27/2018, 12:09 am
by stayhigh
First I want to start with telling that I have no idea how to work with premiere pro. I have very limited knowledge. I use mainly after effects. So if someone can provide a detailed explanation I would really appreciate it.

I need to export MXF OP1a XDCAMHD 50 PAL 4:2:2 for broadcast. I have a preset (8 channel mono 24bit) but every time I export the file it just has 6 empty channels. First 2 channels have audio, the rest nothing. I tried altering the footage audio channels but still no result. I think I need to adjust the sequence so it has multichannel or mono channel or whatever. Now it has stereo sound (I just take the 8 channel mono footage and right click "New sequence from clip"). I'm not really sure this is the right method or I have to create a new sequence and just match the settings? Shouldn't premiere do it itself? I know it does it for the footage but for the sound part I guess not.

Any help would be amazing. I tried reading some stuff on google but I didn't find anything helpful.

Re: How to export 8 channel MXF OP1a for broadcasting

PostPosted: 04/27/2018, 3:01 am
by Sasha dal Ponte
stayhigh wrote:First I want to start with telling that I have no idea how to work with premiere pro. I have very limited knowledge. I use mainly after effects. So if someone can provide a detailed explanation I would really appreciate it.

I need to export MXF OP1a XDCAMHD 50 PAL 4:2:2 for broadcast. I have a preset (8 channel mono 24bit) but every time I export the file it just has 6 empty channels. First 2 channels have audio, the rest nothing. I tried altering the footage audio channels but still no result. I think I need to adjust the sequence so it has multichannel or mono channel or whatever. Now it has stereo sound (I just take the 8 channel mono footage and right click "New sequence from clip"). I'm not really sure this is the right method or I have to create a new sequence and just match the settings? Shouldn't premiere do it itself? I know it does it for the footage but for the sound part I guess not.

Any help would be amazing. I tried reading some stuff on google but I didn't find anything helpful.


Did you try to send the file to your broadcaster? They probably don't need all eight channels filled since your file is stereo only.

Re: How to export 8 channel MXF OP1a for broadcasting

PostPosted: 04/27/2018, 11:10 am
by stayhigh
I have exported it like that with only 2 tracks (the other 6 are empty) and they return with comments that they need all the tracks. When I import their file it has 8 mono tracks. And they aren't the same. There are some duplicates but not all

Re: How to export 8 channel MXF OP1a for broadcasting

PostPosted: 04/28/2018, 2:00 am
by Sasha dal Ponte
stayhigh wrote:I have exported it like that with only 2 tracks (the other 6 are empty) and they return with comments that they need all the tracks. When I import their file it has 8 mono tracks. And they aren't the same. There are some duplicates but not all


Hmmm... OK, then you could try what you said about taking their clip and creating a new sequence. Then try to lay down your clip in that sequence but again I'm not sure that it would split your two channels into eight.