Working with transparent footage?

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

Working with transparent footage?

Postby Ampix0 on 08/28/2017, 4:49 pm

I have created a few 4K transitions and my Intro for my youtube video. Previously I directly imported the AE file, which made for incredibly slow playback making it hard to ensure the video is lined up properly. I wanted to export these files in 4K and 1080p for proxies. I'm having some issues exporting video with the alpha channel though. Various tutorials just seemed to fail. Lossless AVI I believe did work, but the file size is 2GB for 2 seconds of a transition.

Should I just continue working with the AE file? Does anyone have a better tutorial for exporting video with alpha?
Ampix0
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 05/13/2009, 6:23 pm

Re: Working with transparent footage?

Postby JPT7505 on 08/28/2017, 5:27 pm

Png sequence
JPT7505
 
Posts: 931
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM: 128gb

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: Working with transparent footage?

Postby jsn951 on 04/17/2020, 11:57 am

any 16/32 bit image sequence should do, just make sure you choose RGB + ALPHA. If you prefer a self-contained video vs an image sequence, you could use quicktime with png/tiff/targa preset and include alpha as well.
Challenge yourself, be Creative!
http://joosefxdigital.blogspot.com/
jsn951
 
Posts: 515
Joined: 08/1/2008, 8:56 pm
Location: Southern California, USA


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression