Issues with the blur effect on text [RESOLVED]

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

Issues with the blur effect on text [RESOLVED]

Postby HoztileManikyn on 12/31/2015, 11:52 pm

I've been having problems with the 3D blur animator for text, i'm able to adust the amounts, and the "box" around the text responds accordingly, but no blur at all. could anyone please share some insight on what i might be doing wrong? any help at all is greatly appreciated.
Image
Last edited by HoztileManikyn on 01/8/2016, 2:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
HoztileManikyn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 12/31/2015, 11:40 pm
System Specs: Operating System
Windows 8.1 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7 4xxx @ 2.50GHz
Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
Alienware Alienware 17 R2 (SOCKET 0)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080@60Hz)
Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Dell)
3072MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M (Dell)
Storage
931GB Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB (SATA)
Optical Drives
No optical disk drive
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon3Di

Re: Issues with the blur effect on text

Postby Duncan on 01/6/2016, 9:40 am

Your image did not come through, or at least I can not see it.
Duncan
 
Posts: 325
Joined: 01/30/2013, 3:36 pm

Re: Issues with the blur effect on text

Postby HoztileManikyn on 01/7/2016, 1:40 am

Okay, the image issue has been resolved (see attachment)
as you can see, the blur amount has been altered, but no blur is taking place.
Attachments
Untitled.png
HoztileManikyn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 12/31/2015, 11:40 pm
System Specs: Operating System
Windows 8.1 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7 4xxx @ 2.50GHz
Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
Alienware Alienware 17 R2 (SOCKET 0)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080@60Hz)
Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Dell)
3072MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M (Dell)
Storage
931GB Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB (SATA)
Optical Drives
No optical disk drive
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon3Di

Re: Issues with the blur effect on text

Postby greghacker on 01/7/2016, 2:04 am

With my limited expertise in After Effects, I would say two things:
One, since you made the text layer a 3D layer, also create a camera and see if the blur appears then, and two: make sure you're viewing it at full quality and not fast draft or anything other like that.
Sometimes Fast Draft doesn't show small effects to their full extent, to save previewing time. I two at times, couldn't see all the effects applied (especially motion blur) and had to change to Full Quality mode.
greghacker
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 07/20/2009, 5:08 pm

Re: Issues with the blur effect on text

Postby gregalan on 01/7/2016, 4:00 pm

Hi since you are using an animated Range Selector toggle open Range Selector 1 and check the Start/End settings are correct.
gregalan
 
Posts: 3008
Joined: 02/2/2009, 9:52 pm

Re: Issues with the blur effect on text

Postby HoztileManikyn on 01/8/2016, 2:08 am

Thank you all so much, it works now, just had to enable per charecter 3D :D
HoztileManikyn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 12/31/2015, 11:40 pm
System Specs: Operating System
Windows 8.1 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7 4xxx @ 2.50GHz
Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
Alienware Alienware 17 R2 (SOCKET 0)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080@60Hz)
Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Dell)
3072MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M (Dell)
Storage
931GB Seagate ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB (SATA)
Optical Drives
No optical disk drive
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon3Di


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression