Switching from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

Switching from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere

Postby lenny87 on 01/20/2015, 5:23 am

Hello there, Switching from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere

As i am also somebody who changed from FCP to Adobe i was wondering if you could help me out with the following:

I really liked the log and transfer option in FCP, cause i could just take the bits of video that i needed and the rest from the video footage i made during a shooting i could just throw away.

With the native work style of Adobe my HDD becomes fuller much quicker. Cause all the video footage that i made during a shooting has to go to my HDD.

MY QUESTION TO YOU IS: can i still use FCP to log and transfer my video files. And then import the quicktime files into AE and Premiere? Without loosing quality of the media and or workflow speed?

Or is there a good option of exporting video footage (single shots) from Premiere or AE to create media files (which i want to use in premiere to edit). What would be the best export settings to keep high quality of the video, in other words make losless media files.

I Hope you can help.

Greets Lenny
lenny87
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 12/5/2014, 4:33 am

Re: Switching from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere

Postby al board on 01/20/2015, 7:15 am

I have not worked with this but you could try Adobe Prelude. Prelude is designed for organizing media and as far as I know you can create rough cuts.
al board
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 05/3/2010, 5:22 am

Re: Switching from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere

Postby Joe_Evaristo on 02/25/2015, 10:43 am

This shouldn't be necessary. FCP requires log and transfer because it only "sees" a single file for the video you recorded, and it needs to manually break it into pieces. Premiere can pull in the individual files in their native format--no need to separate them out, since they already are.

However, Premiere should be just fine to read your Quicktime files. There can be issues with the native FCP Quicktime codec, so use another, like Prores.
Joe_Evaristo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02/25/2015, 10:36 am


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression

cron