Page 1 of 1

help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/9/2008, 9:31 am
by thirdleg
hey hi guys,
i m saurb frm India n i have been on videocopilot since ages, n juss collectd some potential to finallyyy post somethin tht i m findin very annoyin. i work for a channel in india n i m facing a lot of problems wid my final output tht goes for broadcast, as in when i render my compostion on QT Blackmagic 8bit 25fps, DV-Pal in AFx the colors look very bright n cool but when i see it on tht broadcast monitor, the final output changes, as in sometimes the color becomes dull n sumtimes wid the txts u often see summ annoyin blurs.....
i wuld b obliged if ne one culd help me out wid this..... n help me producing nice quality wid AFx tht doesnt give me such kindaa annoyyinn probs.

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/9/2008, 9:40 am
by pfxstudioss
plss could explain a little cos am not sure wat the problem is :D

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/9/2008, 10:03 am
by AtheneWins
You have to use the Broadcast Color effect, change broadcast locale to the type you are looking for, on how to makecolor safe use reduce saturation, and amplitude about 110; You can use key out safe to see what values aren't measuring up..

or you can apply this to an adjustment layer on top of your final project. You can also use Color Finesse and also Color Management to bring your footage into compliance for color!

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/9/2008, 1:37 pm
by Artflame Noir
also keep in mind that computer monitors have greater resolution and higher contrast than a tv screen...

what look well saturated and dark on a tft or lcd monitor, will often look bleak and washed out on tv.

if u can't afford professional editing monitor(they are really expensive), burn different CC's on a dvd and have them checked out.

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/10/2008, 12:42 am
by thirdleg
hey tnx a lot for tht, i think i wuld first try out my hands on colorfinnese... n if the problem persists i would get back to u soon...

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/26/2008, 3:44 am
by XLR8
you mentioned adjusting the amplitude to 110..... i know that after effects and premiere come set at 110 for the default settings.. i thought the legal limit in the U.S. was 100 ? hopefully im wrong cause 110 would be great :-D also i always thought that you were supposed to adjust the luminance? yes ? no ?

i ask because i need to color correct for a TV commercial im making, so any other helpful advice would be Greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone,
Tim

Re: help needed for knowing the correct output for broadcast

PostPosted: 08/26/2008, 9:13 am
by Artflame Noir
110 is in the game.. ou can find more info on how to fix it at

http://rebelsguide.com/forum

a rebels guide explains this well... maybe I post some tips if I find time later today.. got to run now.