Transparency In Photoshop

3d Design and graphics

Transparency In Photoshop

Postby IggyVanZen on 05/16/2012, 4:16 am

I'm running cs5 on this laptop and i made a graphic in after effects and rendered the still frame out into a .psd file so i could use it in Photoshop. Problem is tho, when i brought it into Photoshop, no transparency. I checked the render settings and i rendered it with Alpha, and when i brought the .psd file into after effects it recognized the alpha. So my question is, how do i get Photoshop to recognize the Alpha?
IggyVanZen
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 12/30/2011, 9:56 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Transparency In Photoshop

Postby nico89-fx on 05/16/2012, 7:54 am

Check the channels window, If you've exported it right, you'll see it's right there.
nico89-fx
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 10/25/2008, 9:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Transparency In Photoshop

Postby IggyVanZen on 05/16/2012, 4:06 pm

The Alpha Channel Is there, but when i turn it on the back ground goes red ( and i dont know how to get rid of it) and when i turn off RGB and leave Alpha on, the image goes black and white (foreground white bg black). I dropped a texure behind it to try and see when the bg goes transparent, but it doesnt work. Please forgive me as im not that experienced with Photoshop.
IggyVanZen
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 12/30/2011, 9:56 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Transparency In Photoshop

Postby nico89-fx on 05/16/2012, 5:10 pm

Well, you don't need to do either. Simply Ctrl+Click on the alpha channel (that'll create a selection), then use the 'add (or was it create) mask button' (at the bottom of the layer's window, it's a rectangle with a cutout circle inside) and you are done.
nico89-fx
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 10/25/2008, 9:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Transparency In Photoshop

Postby IggyVanZen on 05/16/2012, 11:24 pm

Mate, you are a legend! Thanks heaps for your help! :D
IggyVanZen
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 12/30/2011, 9:56 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: Transparency In Photoshop

Postby nico89-fx on 05/17/2012, 12:55 am

Anytime, glad I could help! =)
nico89-fx
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 10/25/2008, 9:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina


Return to Photoshop and Illustrator

cron