Bitmap to Vector Using Element

3d Design and graphics

Bitmap to Vector Using Element

Postby floodjlc on 08/2/2012, 7:11 pm

Hi everyone.....I am very new to Illustrator so please bare with me.

I was wondering if anyone knew if it was possible to create something in AE using element, save it as a photoshop file and import it to Illustrator and turn it into a Vector image that looks as clean and crisp as it does in AE? I would love to be able to use element for print but do not want to lose a bunch of quality.

I have tried the auto trace and the quality was not so great after all was said and done.

Thank you in advance.
floodjlc

Re: Bitmap to Vector Using Element

Postby Icemak on 08/2/2012, 7:40 pm

I am no expert, but I have tried in the past.
The Image needs to be fairly simple for the auto trace to work (simple in contrast and color), so likely anything complicated or greatly textured will not work in transforming to a vector image, but I hope someone here has more experience who can shut me up and prove me wrong :lol:
Icemak

Postby nico89-fx on 08/3/2012, 12:09 am

Converting a bitmap to vectors without doing any work can't be done. Not now, not ever. I'm sorry if I burst your bubble. It simply looks wrong in a best case scenario. But it's just because you are looking at it all wrong.
Even then, a 3d render, especially if it's got some kind of realism to it is very hard to get to look real using vectors. It can be done, but it would still be pointless.
What you can (and should) do is simply render the element image at the size you need it for print. You didn't actually state what your print size and dpi are gonna be, but for instance, a standard A4 at 300dpi would be, in pixel size around 2500x3500 (2480x3508 to be precise). Double that for A3, divide it by two for A5, so on and so forth.