Need help with a script!

Scripting for After Effects

Need help with a script!

Postby chipburns on 10/8/2012, 9:27 pm

Okay, so I've got an Excel document like the one here:

Image

and I have an RPM meter that I'm keyframing the positioning of here:

Image

I know there has to be a way to automate this process! There's 10 videos at about 30 minutes apiece that have about 175 keyframing position each.... See why I am looking for a script! ;)
chipburns
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10/8/2012, 9:22 pm

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby Mylenium on 10/9/2012, 9:08 am

Check AEnhancers and AEScripts. Scripts like Comps from Spreadsheet or Text to Layers could easily be modified to do this and there may be otehrs already doing what you want.

Mylenium
[Pour Mylène, ange sur terre]
----------------------------------------
www.myleniumblog.com
Mylenium
 
Posts: 3263
Joined: 02/1/2009, 11:45 am
Location: Germany
System Specs: Have, I do!

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby Maxweel on 10/9/2012, 10:26 am

I made this last year to animate Nulls from experimental data. I haven't used it since, not sure how reliable it is. I added some alert messages today to guide you a bit, have a look at the enclosed CSV file to see how to format the data.
Basically the time must be in the left column in second or 0:00:00:00 format. Then you can have between 1 and 4 columns of data.

EDIT: maybe I should elaborate, select any keyframeable property of a layer, then run the script and select the CSV file containing the values of the keyframes and their time.
For example if you want to keyframe the value of RotationX, you'll just need in the CSV a column with the time and one with the rotation value.
If you want to keyframe the orientation, you'll need a column for the time, one for the orientation around X, one for the rotation around Y, and obviously a third one for around Z.
Same idea for the position, text, etc
Attachments
CSV Keyframes.zip
Load Keyframes from a CSV file
(1.69 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
Last edited by Maxweel on 10/9/2012, 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Maxweel
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2012, 8:21 am
Location: Ipswich, UK

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby klaus brandenburg on 10/9/2012, 1:13 pm

Kevin, you're my hero (again)!!! This might be exactly what I'm looking for. As soon as I got some time to breathe I will take a look at the script (and send you a mail with kitten news) :)
too many clowns - not enough circuses
klaus brandenburg
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 07/11/2012, 4:51 pm
Location: Munich / Germany

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby chipburns on 10/10/2012, 8:51 pm

Maxweel wrote:I made this last year to animate Nulls from experimental data.

Thanks! I'm going to try this now.
chipburns
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10/8/2012, 9:22 pm

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby chipburns on 10/10/2012, 10:57 pm

Maxwell, would your script be easy to change the timecode to include the "Hours" part of the timecode?

Basically, just adding an '01:' in the script?

I've experimented, and this is the only holdup!
chipburns
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10/8/2012, 9:22 pm

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby Maxweel on 10/11/2012, 9:07 am

Well the time code should be in the form 0:00:00:00 so the hours are already taken into account.
In After Effects timecodes are in the form hours:minutes:seconds:frames and for video I don't think you'd need more than that.

I see that in your screenshots your timecodes are always in the form 1:00:32:00, you're saying it doesn't work for those?


EDIT: if you're referring to the fact that in the CSV (not the script) the timecodes don't have the hours, then it's only because you don't actually need to enter the value of the hours. So you can use the script with a full timecode, but I have to confess I've never done it, so give it a try and tell me if it works
Maxweel
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2012, 8:21 am
Location: Ipswich, UK

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby chipburns on 10/16/2012, 12:47 am

All I had to do was go into Excel and remove the hours section of the timecode and the script works like a charm for what I need. Makes hours worth of work go by in seconds.

Thanks again!
chipburns
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10/8/2012, 9:22 pm

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby Maxweel on 10/16/2012, 7:29 am

So you wanted to remove the hours. I didn't understand that, your last post wasn't very clear. Glad it worked.
Maxweel
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2012, 8:21 am
Location: Ipswich, UK

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby pricebill on 09/6/2016, 4:17 pm

I realize this is an ancient script but I'm having difficulty getting it to work with Trapcode Form. I'd like to take a CSV of yaw, pitch and roll numbers and apply them to the keyframes of a 3D object represented by Trapcode Form. CSV Keyframes.jsx returns the error "Please select a keyframeable property". Is an effect not "keyframeable"?
pricebill
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09/6/2016, 12:06 pm
System Specs: 27" iMac

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby star+circle on 09/9/2016, 1:27 am

I'm not familiar with this script, but I would guess you'd have to have the target property selected (sounds like orientation or rotation in your case) before applying it.
star+circle
 
Posts: 729
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby pricebill on 09/9/2016, 2:30 pm

Thanks for the reply star+circle. I have selected the target property and still receive the error. The script works well when I target a simple layer property but not when attempting to target the x, y, or z rotation of a 3D object rendered by the Trapcode Form 2 plug-in.
pricebill
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09/6/2016, 12:06 pm
System Specs: 27" iMac

Re: Need help with a script!

Postby star+circle on 09/11/2016, 12:11 am

Try applying it to the rotation of a 3D null and pick whip the rotation to Form from there.
star+circle
 
Posts: 729
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland


Return to After Effects Expressions