Can't get tutorial to work

Scripting for After Effects

Can't get tutorial to work

Postby GM Rod on 10/17/2016, 2:09 pm

Hello!

Watching Video Copilot tutorials for a couple days now, and I've gotten each one to work fine.
Except this one...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frXQxwMKh6c

AE keeps giving me an error message about the code.
The code I have is:
thisComp.layer(“Point”).toComp([0,0,0,]);

The error is "unterminated string constant"

Image

Help?
GM Rod
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10/17/2016, 2:00 pm
System Specs: Mac Pro Late 2013
MacOS Sierra
2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
64GB 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
AMD FirePro D500 3072MB x2

Re: Can't get tutorial to work

Postby GM Rod on 10/18/2016, 12:57 pm

In the time it took for this to be posted, I figured it out.

But I'd still like to know why and help others who might be having this issue:

I tried retyping it over and over, and deleting the layer name and renaming it, with and without caps. It was pointed out to me that it might have had a space before or after (it didn't).

It only worked when I renamed it something else (in this case, "Null 1") and used that.
The important thing is, I guess, that it worked. But I'd still like to know why it wasn't...
GM Rod
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10/17/2016, 2:00 pm
System Specs: Mac Pro Late 2013
MacOS Sierra
2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
64GB 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
AMD FirePro D500 3072MB x2

Re: Can't get tutorial to work

Postby hans123 on 10/18/2016, 11:20 pm

Hello GM Rod,

see here:
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2216584

maybe it helps you.

Hans
Last edited by hans123 on 10/18/2016, 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hans123
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/28/2012, 1:37 am
Location: Paris / France

Re: Can't get tutorial to work

Postby Mylenium on 10/18/2016, 11:21 pm

You're on Mac, right? Current versions of OSX mess with teh text input and quietly insert extra characters. ThaT's al lthere is to it. It's a bug.

Mylenium
[Pour Mylène, ange sur terre]
----------------------------------------
www.myleniumblog.com
Mylenium
 
Posts: 3263
Joined: 02/1/2009, 11:45 am
Location: Germany
System Specs: Have, I do!


Return to After Effects Expressions