Page 1 of 1

request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/5/2017, 8:44 am
by dasben
Hi

I noticed, that element just supports 8 lights.
but if you are creating a complex scene, like a town or just one street, 8 lights are not enough.

this is a wish for future versions and feedback from a pro user.

thanks ben

Re: request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/7/2017, 4:01 am
by hans123
Hello dasben,

this an OpenGL restriction >>max. 9 lights (E3D = 8 lights+ambient light).

Hans

Re: request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/9/2017, 9:06 am
by LovingApathy
the 8 light threshold has always been very frustrating

there are ways that you can simulate the effects of distant lights by using material transfer modes and PNGs

Re: request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/17/2017, 8:25 am
by star+circle
I seem to recall a workaround by duplicating the same scene into two (or more) precomps that have different sets of lights active. The 3D precompose script can be used to keep the cameras inside the precomps hooked up to a master camera.

Re: request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/20/2017, 7:22 pm
by LovingApathy
have you tried that setup to see if it works?

Re: request: more lights

PostPosted: 12/21/2017, 3:29 am
by star+circle
I have done that on a project with three precomps with three different sets of lights. Composed with an additive blending mode -- don't remember if I used add or screen or lighten -- it worked quite well. The obvious issue is that you since you are using multiple precomps with the same E3D model in them, it will increase memory usage greatly. I can imagine it grinding to a halt after you've duplicated it several times.