can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Everything Element 3D belongs here

can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/4/2017, 6:27 pm

if I want to give a 3d model a gun to hold in their right hand for eg or is it best to do this first in a DCC please? or is it possible in E3D?
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/5/2017, 5:19 pm

anyone know if anyway of doing this please or best to be done in C4D or Blender for eg?
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby JPT7505 on 12/5/2017, 6:47 pm

Just place them in the same group within element and align as needed.
JPT7505
 
Posts: 824
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
RAM: 65476MB

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/5/2017, 7:45 pm

JPT7505 wrote:Just place them in the same group within element and align as needed.

ahh thanks so much :)
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby prathamesh on 12/8/2017, 6:09 am

i imported animated model in c4d then positioned the gun in the hands of the model and made it child of the hand in which he was holding the gun. then exported as c4d sequence using Xrec. you can google it, its free plugin for c4d. then imported the sequence into E3D and it worked
prathamesh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 07/24/2017, 9:36 pm
System Specs: i3-2330m 4gb ram 1gb gpu amd radeon hd 7400m

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/8/2017, 6:59 am

prathamesh wrote:i imported animated model in c4d then positioned the gun in the hands of the model and made it child of the hand in which he was holding the gun. then exported as c4d sequence using Xrec. you can google it, its free plugin for c4d. then imported the sequence into E3D and it worked


thanks so much. yeah i guess i could already parent it in blender for eg but i just wanted the freedom to change if needed in E3D.
the method above does not work (first reply of putting object in same group) as when my character moves the gun stays behind???
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby JPT7505 on 12/8/2017, 10:22 am

Post a photo of the group within element.

Is the character already pre animated or is it being animated within element?
JPT7505
 
Posts: 824
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz
RAM: 65476MB

GPU: Quadro M6000
GPU RAM: 12288MB

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby prathamesh on 12/8/2017, 10:05 pm

https://youtu.be/6jIduxI-fDI

maybe you need to try this
prathamesh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 07/24/2017, 9:36 pm
System Specs: i3-2330m 4gb ram 1gb gpu amd radeon hd 7400m

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/9/2017, 6:49 am

JPT7505 wrote:Post a photo of the group within element.

Is the character already pre animated or is it being animated within element?

yeah sorry i should have mentioned this, its an obj sequence from Blender. I guess easiest option is just to add the gun in blender then export again eh?
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: can you parent/join objects in E3D please?

Postby badmonk on 12/9/2017, 6:49 am

prathamesh wrote:https://youtu.be/6jIduxI-fDI

maybe you need to try this

thank you, will check it out :)
badmonk
 
Posts: 250
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)


Return to Element 3D