Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby ActionCamStudio on 06/18/2014, 3:45 pm

Hello to everybody! I'm here in front of my pc asking myself if it is safe to download the new CC 2014 update from Adobe or not...is Element 3D tested and ready for this release?
Thank you so much!
Roberto
Sorry for my bad english!
http://www.vimeo.com/robertotafuro
ActionCamStudio
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 05/31/2013, 6:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby nevin on 06/18/2014, 4:00 pm

I don't know if Element 3d is ready but I do know that the 2014 CC version of After Effects installs as a separate application from the last CC version and does not overwrite or replace it. So you should be able to install the AE CC 2014 and still retain all your plugins in AE CC (2013).

EDIT - I just checked the VC twitter, this is what they posted 3 hours ago:

"We are doing some final testing with Element 3D on new version of After Effects. We will let you know ASAP. Our other plug-ins are good!"
nevin
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 10/26/2012, 1:14 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby ActionCamStudio on 06/18/2014, 4:28 pm

Thank you so much for your fast reply nevin!
Good to know that 2014 release is a separate application.
Thank you again.
Sorry for my bad english!
http://www.vimeo.com/robertotafuro
ActionCamStudio
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 05/31/2013, 6:46 pm
Location: Italy

After effects cc 2014 element crashes

Postby Alibozis on 06/19/2014, 1:40 am

When i try to apply element in the new cc 2014 it crashes, are there a solution on this???
I have copied the folder from the old cc plug-in folder and pasted into the new cc 2014 plugin folder.
Alibozis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 04/18/2014, 10:24 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby cadland on 06/19/2014, 3:05 am

Hello
I just copied my Element 3d folder from the AE CC plugins folder to the AE CC 2014 plugins folder and it is working fine in the new version of AE.
cadland
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/19/2014, 3:02 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Photoron on 06/19/2014, 6:19 am

I tested all VC plugins on my system. I have had no issues except for Element.
Photoron
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/19/2014, 6:15 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Dustin Hudson on 06/19/2014, 9:00 am

Hey!

We are looking into some of the issues, copying the plugin will probably work fine, but I would also suggest running the Element installer, when it asks what version to install to, select Custom and change the drop-down to 64 bit and browse to install to the plugin to:

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC 2014\Support Files\Plug-ins

We'll be updating the installer soon, as far as crashes or issues, could you please post what your issue is and your computer specs which you can copy and paste or screenshot from the Element About/System Info tab:
About.jpg


If for whatever reason you can't get to that tab, just knowing what graphic's card and OS you are running will help.
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby TampaTay on 06/19/2014, 9:05 am

Thank you, Dustin!
TampaTay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 05/20/2012, 10:43 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby mjt57 on 06/19/2014, 1:07 pm

Win 7 64 bit, Nvidia 770. Crashes immediately after being applied to the layer. I used the installer and chose the 64 bit and custom install to the plugins folder.
mjt57
 
Posts: 587
Joined: 08/14/2008, 9:13 am
Location: Kansas City

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby bhproductions on 06/19/2014, 6:33 pm

Same specs here and same results as above.
bhproductions
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/19/2014, 6:22 pm

AE CC 2014 Element crashes AE

Postby claytonlight on 06/19/2014, 7:21 pm

I did a drag install from CC. When I applied Element AE crashed. I'm running Windows 8.1. Anyone else?
claytonlight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/19/2014, 6:36 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby sadrazam on 06/20/2014, 12:18 am

copy paste folders; for optical flares works fine but element 3d crashes immediately after being applied to the layer.
my spec system: HP z800, win7 enterprise on 240 gb ssd, k4000 graphic card
Last edited by sadrazam on 06/21/2014, 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sadrazam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/20/2014, 12:12 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Dustin Hudson on 06/20/2014, 9:15 am

Great, thanks for the info mjt57. Of course make sure your drivers are all updated. Might be good to make sure os is updated as well.

We have a brand new installer available from the download section that will install to CC 2014, I might suggest doing that instead of the copy paste.

sadrazam and claytonlight (I merged your thread to here) could you see the above post and add your system specs please, thanks!
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby nsmagic on 06/20/2014, 3:34 pm

I've had the same crash problem. I'm running Windows 7, NVIDEA 760, and I installed with the new installer today. Same result...crashes immediately after applying to a layer.
nsmagic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09/3/2012, 4:28 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby nsmagic on 06/20/2014, 3:36 pm

BTW...I've got the latest driver from NVIDIA (337.88)
nsmagic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09/3/2012, 4:28 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby nsmagic on 06/20/2014, 3:43 pm

I've discovered that if I open an existing project with element in it, everything works fine. I can even start a new project and add element without trouble. FYI
nsmagic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09/3/2012, 4:28 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby ActionCamStudio on 06/21/2014, 4:20 pm

Huston,we have a problem!
AE 2014 crash as soon as i apply Element to a solid. Installed from the new installer. I would like to share a screenshot from Element, but i can't because AE crash.
My system:

i7980x
Asus PT6Deluxe
24GB ram
GTX680 4GB with latest drivers
Two Intel SSD, one for System and one for AE cache.

I need help on this because i have to finish an important work in the next week.
Thank you so much...
Sorry for my bad english!
http://www.vimeo.com/robertotafuro
ActionCamStudio
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 05/31/2013, 6:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby ActionCamStudio on 06/22/2014, 1:49 am

Ok, i've opened an old project with Element and all works fine. Then i've opened a new project,add Element and AE doesn't crash. I've closed AE and then re-opened again after the installation of my MXO2 hardware...AE crash after i've added element. Restart the system, open AE, insert Element on a new solid and then AE doesn't crash. At this time AE doesn't crash...i don't know if it is stable...but for now it works.
Sorry for my bad english!
http://www.vimeo.com/robertotafuro
ActionCamStudio
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 05/31/2013, 6:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby SovereignMedia on 06/24/2014, 6:41 pm

Hmm... same problem here. Works fine in existing projects. Adding e3d to layer in new project = instant crash.

If this isn't a common problem being resolved, I'll post system specs and/or contact support.

Also, how has everyone been handling accessing the the custom models, presets, etc. from the previous version (non-2014 install). Just copying and replacing the newly installed assets with the old ones?
SovereignMedia
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 03/22/2012, 6:03 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Mr_Me on 06/25/2014, 1:13 am

I would suggest to re-start your computer after you launch the new installer and before you start to work on a project.
Mr_Me
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 07/19/2012, 6:59 am

Element 3D crashing After Effects CC 2014

Postby Stratos Designs on 06/25/2014, 1:22 am

So, yesterday I just downloaded Ae CC 2014 and transferred the plugins from Ae CC, and everything works just fine instead of Element, at first nothing worked at all but after some time element started working normally. But then whenever I try to Use the 'custom text and masks' option everything just freezes for a moment and then Win7 displays that 'Adobe After Effects CC 2014 has stopped working' and I have to click on 'Close the Program' >-|| .
System Info:

"Build: Element x64 1.6.2 (480)

OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit 6.1.7601

CPU: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor
RAM: 8189MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 750 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 9.18.13.3788
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0"


Please Guys I need help a bit urgently....
Stratos Designs
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03/4/2014, 10:45 pm

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby ROBatGraveShift on 06/25/2014, 9:15 am

Hi Dustin,

The most recent update in the downloads section seems to be as of April 2014, and not June of 2014.

Should I not worry about this and download anyway, so I can install for CC 2014? Or should I see something different in the "downloads" section?

Thanks,
Rob
ROBatGraveShift
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/25/2014, 9:06 am

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Dustin Hudson on 06/25/2014, 11:15 am

We just updated the installer, but yes the main download is the correct one (the actual build is still from that date.).

As a quick update, we are still looking into the issues on cc 2014, we'll let every one know when we have more info on that. We thank you for your patience.
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby particleman on 06/25/2014, 12:40 pm

Just fyi – so far (*knock on wood*) quick initial tests with Element 3D, running on Mac AE CC 2014 has worked fine. As well as Optical Flares...
Atomic Kid Studios – http://www.atomickidstudios.com
MacPro (Late 2013) - 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram - FirePro D500s - OS 10.11.x
particleman
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 09/17/2008, 3:06 pm
Location: Connecticut

Re: Element 3D and CC 2014 update

Postby Dustin Hudson on 06/25/2014, 2:22 pm

Hey Stratos!

Just merged your issue here. So do regular models work? Or that just happens with extrusions?


@Particleman: Cool, good to hear, just curious what are your system specs?
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Next

Return to Element 3D