Shadows not working right in E3D

Everything Element 3D belongs here

Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby fmaturi on 06/18/2017, 10:10 am

I have E3D V2.22 (the latest version)...I also have an Nvidia GTX 970 card (with the latest drivers downloaded and installed 5 days ago)...but...my shadows (with one light) are simply not dark enough on the side of the model without any light. I am not using ambient light or additional lights within E3D..I am only using ONE parallel light with ray traced shadows turned on. The side of the model not getting any light should be almost pure black, but it is not.

Anyone else have this issue and the fix for it?

Thanks in advance for any help on this.
fmaturi
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 12/6/2014, 12:21 am

Re: Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby hans123 on 06/18/2017, 12:09 pm

Hello fmaturi,

look at the last answer i gave you:
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=128493#p388043

If Raytraced Shadow not working well, try at first NVIDIA Driver Version, 376.33.

Hans
Last edited by hans123 on 06/18/2017, 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hans123
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 12/28/2012, 1:37 am
Location: Paris / France

Re: Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby fmaturi on 06/18/2017, 5:27 pm

I changed the Nvidia driver to 376.33...but, the shadows still do not seem right, they are there, but not as dark as they should be with only one light.
Do you have any other suggestions?
fmaturi
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 12/6/2014, 12:21 am

Re: Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby fmaturi on 06/18/2017, 5:41 pm

I am attaching a picture of the issue. If you notice...one light (which can be seen)...at over 200% brightness...but the side of the objects away from the light is not as dark as it should be. I have the 376.33 driver for my Nvidia card installed...and this shadowing issue still persists. Any other suggestions?
Attachments
shadow issue.jpg
fmaturi
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 12/6/2014, 12:21 am

Re: Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby hans123 on 06/18/2017, 6:23 pm

Hello fmaturi,

to use the Driver 376.33 means only, use it, if raytraced shadows not work and raytraced AO gives you a black Image.
What i can see in your screenshot are reflections from your Environment picture.

E3D Plugin, go to:
>>Render Settings >>Physical Environment
modify the value >>Lighting Influence and/or >>Exposure

Hans
hans123
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 12/28/2012, 1:37 am
Location: Paris / France

Re: Shadows not working right in E3D

Postby fmaturi on 06/19/2017, 8:20 am

No..that is not the problem. Thanks anyway, though.
fmaturi
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 12/6/2014, 12:21 am


Return to Element 3D