Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Improve and Enhance Video Copilot Plugins

Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jenkisg on 03/9/2016, 10:30 am

When I think about it now, I guess it's obvious: If you were zooming in close to a raster layer such as a photo, you will see the pixels. When the camera is zooming in to an Element layer, you are not really getting closer to the layer. Element 3d responds by getting you closer to the 3d object it is displaying, but the resolution doesn't change. Make any sense at all!?! I'll bet Andrew Kramer can explain what I'm trying to say a lot more clearly than I am. AARRGHH.

My original question

This is a really great plugin! However, I'm having trouble with the render quality of saber using it on a 3d layer. I've looked at what Andrew is doing in his comp outlining the Element 3d text using Saber on a mask layer. His outlines are nice and smooth and mine are looking pixellated. I've tried messing with continuously rasterize and collapse transformations, but that does more harm than good. Looking at the tutorial at about 16:40 it doesn't look like he is precomposing the layer, or using it as a texture in Element. He even solos (pardon the pun) the layer at one point; his is still smooth while mine is pixellated. Must be something really simple.

What am I missing here?

Thanks!

Saber Using Masks.aep
Use saber with mask on 3d layer
(975.76 KiB) Downloaded 353 times

Andrew's Saber.jpg
Andrew's Saber

Steves Saber mask invisible.jpg
Steve's Saber Mask Invisible
Last edited by jenkisg on 03/10/2016, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
jenkisg
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 08/3/2014, 6:45 pm
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2140.develop)

OS: OS X 10.11.3

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
RAM: 16384MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M OpenGL Engine
GPU Driver:
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GT 750M (47.6%) (GL Interop)
CL1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz (4.8%)
CL2: Iris Pro (47.6%)

Re: Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby Jaysin on 03/9/2016, 2:38 pm

I was just about to post something to the same effect. I am having the same pixelization issues on 3d layers using masks.
Attachments
SaberCapture.JPG
Jaysin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/8/2016, 4:58 pm
System Specs: OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 10.0.10586

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 770/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 10.18.13.6191
GPU RAM: 4096MB

Re: Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jenkisg on 03/9/2016, 6:17 pm

SOLVED - Double your 3d layer's size (in layer settings) then scale it down in the comp. I tried this and it reduced the size of the jaggies in half. Of course you can increase/scale down more as needed.
jenkisg
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 08/3/2014, 6:45 pm
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2140.develop)

OS: OS X 10.11.3

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
RAM: 16384MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M OpenGL Engine
GPU Driver:
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GT 750M (47.6%) (GL Interop)
CL1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz (4.8%)
CL2: Iris Pro (47.6%)

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby Jaysin on 03/10/2016, 4:03 pm

Thanks, I had a feeling it involved the scaling of the initial vector. Another solution instead of doubling or quadrupling the layer size is to copy the mask into Illustrator and doing a uniform scale there and then pasting back into the same layer. I assume that is a more efficient way that having giant solid layers?
Jaysin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/8/2016, 4:58 pm
System Specs: OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 10.0.10586

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 770/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 10.18.13.6191
GPU RAM: 4096MB

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jonjon358 on 03/14/2016, 1:44 pm

I'm having the same issue and I can't follow what you guys are talking about.

Here's my process, which is totally failing:

1) Set up 3D text in Element extruding from a text layer
2) Make a Saber layer and use the same text layer as the Core Type
3) Make the Saber layer 3D and align it with Element in 3D space

So far so good, or rather bad, because I get the pixelation - and I'm also trying to do a similar thing as in Andrew's tutorial with the cam zoomed in tight on the text so that (eventually, hopefully) you can see the Saber effect "draw on" like Andrew does. And because I'm so zoomed in, the effect itself is of course huge - so that it's just a field of blue haze until I take the glow intensity practically down to zero.

Now am i supposed to adjust the size of the solid with the Saber effect on it? That's what I assume you mean by "doubling the 3D layer's size in layer settings." So like, go to "solid settings" for the layer with Saber on it and double it there? Then scale down the layer in the comp? This seems to be REALLY tricky. In fact, as I keep trying this, it's hard to even tell what's going on, but I'm not sure changing the solid size does anything at all to the Saber effect except stick it in the top left corner as it adds "solid" down and to the right. And then to get it back in line I have to do it all visually, whereas I'd rather use mathematical precision as much as possible.

Hopefully we'll just get a tutorial about using this with E3D, but until then, can you or somebody explain the process? It looked so simple in the tutorial, thought I saw how to do it right away, but nope!
jonjon358
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 08/30/2014, 11:06 am

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jonjon358 on 03/14/2016, 2:03 pm

Made a little progress by creating masks from the text, pasting them onto a new solid, then adding Saber, quadrupling the size of the solid in settings, then reducing the scale to 25%. I'm thinking this must be the way to go, ultimately, though I'll prob have to size it up 8 times or more and then reduce to an eighth to get manageable Saber settings.
jonjon358
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 08/30/2014, 11:06 am

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jonjon358 on 03/14/2016, 2:48 pm

My utterly derivative, copycatted-by-numbers attempt at this...but it works! I always try to duplicate the example as close as possible just for technical purposes before I do my own thing...

Comp-1-(0;00;00;00).jpg
jonjon358
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 08/30/2014, 11:06 am

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby jenkisg on 03/14/2016, 7:36 pm

Making your text into a mask is key. You can't resize a text layer or scale it the way you can with a regular layer.
jenkisg
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 08/3/2014, 6:45 pm
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2140.develop)

OS: OS X 10.11.3

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
RAM: 16384MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M OpenGL Engine
GPU Driver:
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GT 750M (47.6%) (GL Interop)
CL1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4870HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz (4.8%)
CL2: Iris Pro (47.6%)

Re: Solved - Saber pixellated on 3d layer

Postby lassebauer on 09/15/2017, 3:13 am

Exactly what did you do?
I´m having the same issue you had before.
Please explain in detail, if you could :)

jonjon358 wrote:My utterly derivative, copycatted-by-numbers attempt at this...but it works! I always try to duplicate the example as close as possible just for technical purposes before I do my own thing...

Comp-1-(0;00;00;00).jpg
I love goooooold. The look of it, the daste of it, the schmell of it, the dexture.
I love gold so much that I even lost my genitalia in an unfortunate schmelting accident. Hence the name....
lassebauer
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 11/17/2013, 11:10 am
Location: Denmark


Return to VC Plugin Support