Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Improve and Enhance Video Copilot Plugins

Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby snorpthus on 01/3/2015, 12:16 am

>-||
Hi,

I have a video here that shows what I'm talking about: http://youtu.be/URZmlNqqftw

I'm unable to get Sure Target 2 to work on my mac. I am using After Effects CC. I can get Sure Target's dolly's to work, but the targeting itself doesn't work. I also feel like it's hard to find Sure Target to download online. Do you all no longer make Sure Target? Is it discontinued?

Currently I have my Sure Target plugin located in Applications/Adobe After Effects CC 2014/Plug-ins. When I try to use it, I get the following error message:

"After Effects warning: effect named 'Sure Target' is missing or does not exist. It may have been renamed, moved, deleted, or the name may have been mistyped. A property expressing referencing it was disabled.

'Position' (line 1) of layer 1 ('Null 15') in comp 'Ice Cream, Balloon, Color Wheel'"

I can get this error message to go away if I move the Sure Target plugin file into Applications/Adobe After Effects CC 2014/Plug-ins/Effects, however, it simply doesn't work. The dolly function works, but the targeting doesn't work at all.

My mac specs are as follows:
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro11,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2.6 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 16 GB
Boot ROM Version: MBP112.0138.B11
SMC Version (system): 2.19f12
Serial Number (system): C02M73C5FD59
Hardware UUID: 653E4B65-DF68-5DD9-AD93-8DC86F355C65
snorpthus
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01/2/2015, 11:40 pm

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby level5wizard on 01/8/2015, 8:51 am

having the same issue
level5wizard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01/8/2015, 8:47 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby level5wizard on 01/8/2015, 11:47 am

here is what I get.... is it do to the fact it is a 16 bit plugin?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 10.50.19 AM.png
level5wizard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01/8/2015, 8:47 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby level5wizard on 01/8/2015, 12:38 pm

I think the changed the camera on the adobe side when CC came out. I and sue if they opened the code to the public, someone could fix it.
level5wizard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01/8/2015, 8:47 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby level5wizard on 01/8/2015, 2:32 pm

I found a workaround.... or well a button.
after your initial apply the plugin to the NULL, spin down the Refresh Expressions arrow and click the Execute button.

Seems to be working for now... no crashing.

The last update to the plugin was 4 years ago.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 4.28.10 PM.png
level5wizard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01/8/2015, 8:47 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby 4ourGood on 07/16/2015, 3:12 pm

just to mention - its NOT WORKING for After Effetcs cc 2015. Also the "workaround" (button) does not fix it.
4our Good Mediendesign
Imagefilm | Productfilm | Videoediting | Postproduction
http://www.fourgood.de
4ourGood
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 08/2/2008, 6:49 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby chfilm on 09/7/2015, 3:24 pm

having the same issue on 2015. We need an Update!
chfilm
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 07/12/2012, 8:51 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby monkeyeye1 on 09/10/2015, 7:13 am

Running Adobe AE 2015 and having very similar issues. Most notably the targeting does not work. I've set up only a couple of targets in 3D space, and when key framing between targets, the camera doesn't move and targets other then the first one are not visible. Does anyone know of another solution to this plugin? I was hoping to use this plugin pretty regularly in the coming months, and it would suck to have to go to manual camera animations.
monkeyeye1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03/4/2014, 9:33 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby Tzontonel on 10/2/2015, 7:42 am

Anyone fixed it? In CC2015 it doesn't work.
Tzontonel
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 08/5/2008, 12:59 pm
Location: Iasi
Twitter: Tzontonel

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 12/2/2015, 2:46 pm

Apply it. Close After Effects. Open the project again. Does it work?
______________
Michael Szalapski
Fast. Cheap. Good.
Pick two.
Michael_Szalapski
 
Posts: 8245
Joined: 02/2/2010, 1:06 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Twitter: thegreatszalam

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby Fire39 on 12/12/2015, 5:43 pm

Andrew we need u ! IT'S NOT WORKING ;(

>-||
Fire39
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/2/2015, 6:15 am
System Specs: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
RAM: 16279MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 10.18.10.3958
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby albie10 on 01/24/2016, 6:54 pm

Hi Andrew,

Are you looking into fixing the Sure Target plugin for CC 2014 and CC 2015?

Thanks
albie10
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01/7/2016, 12:34 am
System Specs: AMD 6 core 3.3GHz
16GB Ram
64 bit Windows 7

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby calipvp on 02/5/2016, 8:26 am

Has anyone upgraded Ae to 13.7 and do you know if Sure Target 2 works after updating? This one of the best tools under Video Copilot and I'm willing to bet if they sold it they would get the sales.
calipvp
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 11/17/2014, 11:45 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby JBT27 on 03/12/2016, 3:01 am

I've had some problems with it on CC 2015 13.7, but they tend to be temporary, and Sure Target appears to be working. I haven't pushed it through a major showdown, but I've had four targets working fine, with rotations on target nulls, dolly keys and auto rotate. Not had to refresh expressions or restart AE.

That said, it can glitch, and it seems it may well need looking at again. I'd pay for this - a camera targeting plugin like this is essential to complex moves.
JBT27
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 12/8/2013, 8:32 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby eddiecwk on 04/16/2016, 9:33 pm

Andrew pls update this important update for After Effect CC series, pls god
eddiecwk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01/1/2015, 12:32 am

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby JohnnyApple on 05/6/2016, 5:25 am

I'm also having glitches with ST2 after the workaround (add ST, save project, restart AE, reopen project).

I can add more than 8 targets, but in the process of moving the targets (very carefully, making sure) a random offset creeps in and I can't locate the origin of the shift. I've run into this problem multiple times.

Wish there was an alternative to Sure Target 2.
JohnnyApple
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 05/6/2016, 5:21 am
System Specs: Macbook Retina 15" mid 2015, 16 GB.

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby MattsMotion on 05/20/2016, 9:22 am

I have the same problem with CC 2015.

Is Andrew answer to the forum posts sometimes ? :shock:
MattsMotion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 05/20/2016, 9:18 am
System Specs: iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)

Display
27-inch (diagonal) Retina 5K display with IPS technology
5120‑by‑2880 resolution with support for millions of colours

Processor
3.2GHz quad‑core Intel Core i5 (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz)

Memory
32GB of 1867MHz DDR3 memory

Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 M380 graphics processor with 2GB of GDDR5 memory

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby jerry49[beeman] on 07/29/2016, 8:39 am

I've tried the above suggestion. Applying the transitions, placing targets etc. Closing program, reopen and it works somewhat. I cannot get the "Auto Rotate" to work. Even went back and placed all target facing forward. Still some went rotating the wrong direction. Tried by going from target to target and re- orienting, no good >-||
jerry49[beeman]
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 07/29/2016, 7:56 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2140.develop)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.10586

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
RAM: 12226MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 10.18.13.6472
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby star+circle on 07/30/2016, 12:06 am

Anyone familiar with MonkeyCam? It looks like it might be a good alternative to SureTarget.

http://aescripts.com/monkeycam-pro/
star+circle
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 12/6/2014, 3:07 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby marshal2107 on 09/22/2016, 7:44 pm

I HAVE THE SOLUTION. HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, THIS IS THE FIX:


1 CREATE COMPOSITION

2 APPLY SURE TARGET TO A NULL

3- SAVE THE PROJECT, AND EXIT AFTER EEFFECTS.

4-OPEN THE PROJECT BY CLICKING IT.


SEEMS RIDICULUS BUT WORKS.
marshal2107
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 09/22/2016, 7:41 pm
System Specs: i5

8gbram

win

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby Necron_99 on 11/24/2016, 10:08 am

As of today, I can confirm this solution still works – thanks marshal2107! Any official fix for this?
Necron_99
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11/24/2016, 9:59 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: OS X 10.11.6

CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5462 @ 2.80GHz
RAM: 49152MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: NVIDIA Quadro 4000 OpenGL Engine
GPU Driver:
GPU RAM: 2048MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: Quadro 4000 (90.9%) (GL Interop)
CL1: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5462 @ 2.80GHz (9.1%)

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby mstill123 on 12/1/2016, 11:04 am

Using CC 2017 on an iMac Sure target keeps crashing when I try to load assets. Also still see problems with sure target not working until you save, exit, and restart the the effect works. Any suggestions?
mstill123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12/1/2016, 10:52 am
System Specs: 27" MAC
3.4 Intel Core
16Gb 1600 DDR3
Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2048MB

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby mstill123 on 12/1/2016, 12:22 pm

Any solutions for fixing the crashing problems when adding assets?
mstill123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12/1/2016, 10:52 am
System Specs: 27" MAC
3.4 Intel Core
16Gb 1600 DDR3
Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2048MB

Re: Sure Target 2 not working in After Effects CC 2014

Postby JBT27 on 01/24/2017, 2:46 pm

No response to these problems for over a year. It's a free script, so fair enough, but it was incredibly useful. The problems continue in AE CC2017. Too much hassle, screws workflow and is unreliable. I may take a look at that Monkey Cam Pro - content to spend the money if it works. I think ST2 has had its day, and VC don't seem interested in supporting it. Shame - I'd happily buy a VC camera plugin that did this and more.
JBT27
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 12/8/2013, 8:32 am


Return to VC Plugin Support