Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Share your homemade tutorials with everyone

Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Atom on 04/22/2012, 4:43 am

Hi All,

I have written a CS3/CS5 Javascript to help out with voice over synch to cartoon mouths.

The CS3/CS5 Javascript is attached to this post.

NOTE: This script has been tested on CS3 and CS5. So give it a try and post your results here!

ALSO: Make sure you match your FPS between Papagayo and After Effects or the synch will fail.

Here is a short video that shows how to use the script.
Attachments
cs5_moho_2_time_remap.zip
Use this script if you are running After Effects CS5 or better.
(2.7 KiB) Downloaded 2678 times
moho_2_time_remap.zip
This is the After Effects CS3 Javascript that will read the Papagayo generated MOHO.dat file and produce a time re-mapped comp that matches the voice over synch.
(2.67 KiB) Downloaded 1368 times
Last edited by Atom on 04/5/2013, 5:32 am, edited 3 times in total.
After Effects CS3, CS5, CS6
Windows 7 x64, OSX 10.6.8
Blender 3D
Atom
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 02/3/2010, 7:24 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Dustin Hudson on 04/23/2012, 8:48 am

I fixed your vimeo link for ya ;). You just have to write it like this:
Code: Select all
[vimeo]http://www.vimeo.com/40365354[/vimeo]
Dustin Hudson
VC Administrator
VC Administrator
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: 11/16/2010, 11:37 am
Twitter: Dustinhud

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Atom on 04/24/2012, 5:06 am

Dustin, thanks for fixing the video link!
After Effects CS3, CS5, CS6
Windows 7 x64, OSX 10.6.8
Blender 3D
Atom
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 02/3/2010, 7:24 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Awesome_Fighter on 11/27/2012, 9:46 pm

Hi everyone.

I followed a tutorial here and was upset to find the supplied code didn't work on AF CS5.5. I googled the problem and after tinkering with the code slightly I managed to fix it. If it's not working open the file and replace lines 127 to 133 with:

var myFile = File.openDialog("");
if (myFile != null)
{
// open file
var fileOK = myFile.open("");

and it'll work no problem.
Awesome_Fighter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11/27/2012, 9:31 pm

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby kostet1977 on 12/5/2012, 5:44 am

Hi guys, i have tried this script (CS 5), and have error on line 127. Then i replaced lines as Awesome_Fighter suggested and have another error - now in line 220. Here is the text "Unable to execute script at line 220. Illegal use of reserved word"
Any suggestions? Thank you.
kostet1977
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12/5/2012, 5:36 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby mcfilms on 03/11/2013, 3:49 pm

Does this work for anyone in Adobe After Effects CS6?

I downloaded the moho_2_time_remap.jsx file. I made the edit to change to File.openDialog(). I select my comp and successfully run the jsx and select my .DAT file created with Papagayo.

The video above doesn't mention it, but I made sure all of my 10 layers are named and stacked in the same manner as they are in the video. So AI.jpg, E.jpg, etc.jpg and so on.

The jsx does not seem to do anything and the javascript console simply says:
"Result: undefined"

Has anyone got Papagayo to work in CS6?
mcfilms
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/11/2013, 3:30 pm

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Atom on 03/27/2013, 6:23 am

Thanks for all the feedback on the script. I have updated it to work with CS5 based upon your comments and code snippets.
After Effects CS3, CS5, CS6
Windows 7 x64, OSX 10.6.8
Blender 3D
Atom
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 02/3/2010, 7:24 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby brianow on 04/2/2013, 8:53 am

Hey Atom, you said " I have updated it to work with CS5 based upon your comments and code snippets." can you post the updated one. Thanks.
brianow
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07/20/2012, 11:30 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Atom on 04/5/2013, 5:31 am

I attached it in the first post, up above. I left the CS3 version available for download as well.
After Effects CS3, CS5, CS6
Windows 7 x64, OSX 10.6.8
Blender 3D
Atom
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 02/3/2010, 7:24 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby brianow on 04/5/2013, 9:30 am

Oh yeah Atom, I found it. Many thanks. I actually used it in cs6 and had to make a few mods to get it to work ok. Cheers man.
brianow
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07/20/2012, 11:30 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Renell on 04/18/2013, 6:40 pm

brianow wrote:Oh yeah Atom, I found it. Many thanks. I actually used it in cs6 and had to make a few mods to get it to work ok. Cheers man.

Hi, can you please post the mods needed for CS6
Renell
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 01/9/2012, 12:44 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Pieczony89 on 11/18/2013, 8:00 am

I have a problem with Papagayo software. It doesn't work on win8x64 :/ Do you guys have any solution for this? Or maybe there is other software like papagayo?
Pieczony89
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11/18/2013, 7:58 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby zenthar on 03/24/2014, 6:00 pm

I get the following error when running the CS5, CS4 and CS3 version - perhaps anyone could help?

AE says: Unable to execute script at line 202. After Effects error: Unable to call "setValueAtTime" because of parameter 2. Value -0.04 out of range 0 to 0.33.

Many thanks in advance !
zenthar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03/24/2014, 5:46 pm

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Gurujot on 08/11/2014, 2:10 pm

I used papagayo successfully with Smithmicro Anime Studio. Now I'm doing a project with After Effects CS6. I'm using the CS 5 script you provided. I would really like to use papagayo, but the .dat file keypoints don't line up with the audio in AE. The mouth movements go by too fast in parts, and too slow in others. I tried stretching the keypoint sequence to match up but it just doesn't work. Has anyone else used CS6 and Papagayo successfully? I don't know what I'm doing wrong or how to correct it.
||-<
Gurujot
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 08/11/2014, 2:05 pm

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby freezy on 08/25/2014, 5:17 am

@Gurujot:

I had problems with it but after figuring out what you have to watch out for, it worked out pretty well for me.

I had timing trouble as well wich was caused by the buggy FPS-Changing in Papagayo itself. I figured out that it only switches to the chosen FPS on the second selection. So I always had to select 25fps (in my case) twice to have it adjust.
You can tell if it's set to the correct FPS by looking at the timeincrements in the timeline, it should say 25...50...75 for 25fps and 24...48.. 72.. for 24 and so on and so on.

Its important you do that before starting to work in papagayo.

Papagayo inside of aftereffects is not very flexible and the timeremapping tends to choose random frames inbetween if there is any kind of time subsampling going on. And the mouthshape at the end always stays in its last form instead of reversing to the base-shape, but thats easily fixed by adjusting a few keyframes
freezy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 08/25/2014, 5:10 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby danoatefan on 02/17/2015, 5:06 am

I followed all the steps in AE 5.5 several times but I see no lip sync and I do not know where the problem is.
Can anyone help me please with debugging? How should I fix? I do not know what I do wrong.

Thank you.
Dan
danoatefan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02/17/2015, 5:01 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby Kleinart on 03/21/2015, 10:22 am

I created my own jpg art for the phonemes. I think I followed you instructions implicitly, but nothing is happening when I RAM preview. It just runs the image of the first jpg from the original phonemes layers. I'm running Ae CS6, using your CS5 script. Is there anything I need to know about creating the files for the phonemes? Any help?
Kleinart
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03/21/2015, 10:11 am

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby GrinningHermit on 04/25/2015, 6:09 am

The script still works with CC 2014 on a Mac. No need to make changes to the script file. Just make sure, like stated in the video, that the phoneme composition has the layers in the correct order (AI, E, etc, FV, L, O, rest, U, WQ), one frame long and first layer (AI) positioned at frame 0, second at frame 1, etc. The extension of the file does not matter: .png and .jpg both work fine. Didn't test it, but I think .gif is fine too.

I suspect some of the posts made here earlier don't have to do with a faulty script but with an error in the above. Also make sure to make a testrun with a well pronounced English sentence with a lot of different phonemes used. My first testrun was in a different language and had a lot of letters that Papagayo's phoneme set all interpreted as 'etc'. It made me think the script didn't work. In my case it helped to write the spoken tekst more like it sounds (phonetically) instead of adhering strictly to spelling.
GrinningHermit
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 04/25/2015, 5:16 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 1.6.2 (490)

OS: OS X 10.10.2

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3740QM CPU @ 2.70GHz
RAM: 16384MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M OpenGL Engine
GPU Driver:
GPU RAM: 1024MB
GPU Code: 0

Re: Papagayo To Time Remaped Comp (Lip Synch Automator)

Postby jobdrums on 06/9/2015, 1:06 pm

I am using Papagayo 2.0b1 and After Effects CC.

I was having this error:

"Unable to execute script at line 202. After Effects error: Unable to call “setValueAtTime” because of parameter 2."

It's nothing to do with Papagayo 2.0b1 Export process, or After Effects CC. . . For some reason IF YOU CHANGE FPS TO 25 on both AF and Papagayo it works smoothly.

Match the phonems in Papagayo as perfect as possible . . then in AF just render the composition and you'll be able to stretch it to match the audio.

Cheers!
Javier
jobdrums
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06/9/2015, 1:01 pm
System Specs: Mac
OS X Yosemite
10.10.3

Processor: 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB


Return to Personal Tutorials & Websites