CG Tornado

Share your homemade tutorials with everyone

CG Tornado

Postby All-Fired-Up on 05/10/2009, 9:37 am

I posted this tutorial a little over a year ago over at CGTalk and I posted it on my blog and over at 3D Attack (featured in their online magazine), and I thought I should post it here. :D

You can see the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BROSxch-_Mw&feature=channel_page&fmt=18

(Be sure to watch in HD) ;)

Now there's probably a hundred ways to do this, this is just one way, So here goes the tutorial, enjoy!

I wanted to share a tutorial I did for making a realistic tornado in After Effects (I am using AE CS3). The only thing you'll need is good storm footage and the effect called CC Mr. Mercury.

I actually got the idea to do it after I finished Andrew Kramer's "Water Drop" tutorial.

I started playing around with the filter effect called CC Mr. Mercury. And I found that I could indeed create a very realistic, pretty passable, spinning debris field. I'm sure there are a ton of ways to create good tornadoes, but I thought I would share mine.

The key is good storm cloud footage. Without it, you'll be hard pressed to get it looking real. Or end up trying to do it in 3D which is even more difficult. Not impossible, but not easy either, I know I've tried (I use Cinema 4D 10).

So here goes. I bought Video Copilot's "Real Clouds" for $75 you get a lot of great cloud footage. Real Clouds here: http://www.videocopilot.net/products/realclouds/

I used 03.mov, the one that definitely looks like a tornado would spawn out of.

To get a general idea of the animation you can see it over at youtube. I just uploaded the HD version of this tornado.

1) Drop in the storm cloud footage, 1st layer.

2) Duplicate that 1st stormy layer to make a second storm layer and flip it vertically.

3) Now find a good place in that footage for a funnel. It takes some creativity here. I just picked a spot of clouds that would be suitable for a funnel.