Element 3D Text blurry in comp

A place for beginners to start

Element 3D Text blurry in comp

Postby pianosdr on 05/2/2016, 1:48 pm

Hi All,

This is a total noob question, I get it, but I've spent more hours than I care to admit trying to figure out what I'm not doing right. I've attached some images showing the problem. I'm using Element 3D (v2.2) to create 3D text. My end goal is to sort of mimic the Universal logo with 3D text flying in around the world.

Everything looks great in Element 3D. The text is super detailed, the lighting looks high quality and high resolution, reflectivity is awesome...until I hit "OK" to render that product into my AE comp. As soon as I do this, the text in the comp appears blurry, not nearly as detailed as it appears in the scene setup, etc.

I've tried fiddling with all of the resolution settings I can possibly think of, including: Making the comp itself high resolution to begin with (1920x1080), setting the rendering resolution to "Full," setting the Element 3D Output multisampling setting to 16 and supersampling to 4, setting Element 3D Tesselation resolution to Extreme, and adding 3 point lights in various locations in the comp to help illuminate the text. The result is what I'm showing in images here. Could someone help point me in the right direction? I'd like to get exactly what the scene looks like in Element 3D to actually appear in my AE comp so that I can continue with creating that Universal logo (I chose Universal so that I could practice with using 3D text).

Thanks!

The first image is showing how the text appears in Element 3D-- super detailed.

The next 2 images are showing how that same text appears in AE once I hit "OK" in Element to render it out to the comp. Not nearly as detailed as it appears in Element.
Attachments
Element3D_Text.png
Close up of text in Element 3D scene setup
AE_Test2.png
Shot of full text in Element 3D scene setup
AE_Test1.png
How text appears in After Effects comp