Building a Jump'n'Run Style moving world - beginner question

A place for beginners to start

Building a Jump'n'Run Style moving world - beginner question

Postby TimVautksch on 09/2/2015, 1:53 am

Hey guys,

I am a musician originally with a great interest in filmmaking. With my band I decided to try and tell a story for one of our songs. I have editing experience but no compositing exp.

My idea was to build a very basic 2D world with silhouette buildings ( all just black silhouettes) and plants, selfshot timelapses of the day or night sky in the background and have a green screened actor walk through it like in a Jump'n'Run game.

I managed to do a sky replacement with a timelapse and put some stationary green screen footage into the comp (like a dancer standing still).

I also created a 7000x1080 jpg with different houses that I keyframed the position of so that it moves from right to left.

2 Things:

How can I anchor footage to like a building in my comp?

How can I make an actor move through my world?

Would it be easier to create an virtual camera insteat of moving the landscape? (no idea what I am talking about just stuff I saw being done in AE somewhere)

Would be awesome if you gave me some hints, I don't even know what to google for as I don't yet know the terminology.

Cheers

Tim
Attachments
Pic.png
TimVautksch

System Specs: XMG C404 NVidia 860M i7 4710HQ

Re: Building a Jump'n'Run Style moving world - beginner question

Postby Westbam on 09/3/2015, 6:04 am

Wow, sounds like a cool project to do! 8-)

What you want to look for is called Parallax. (this will give you an idea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tqz_G3iYfi8)

Basicly, you make a 3D camera, let it move over the X axis, and than put all your assets (buldings, plants) in that same comp.
Make them 3D layers, and push them back in Z space. And reposotion them if needed.
The bigger far away objects go further away, and than, when they are too small, simply scale them up.