How do I cut out a single element of a video?

A place for beginners to start

How do I cut out a single element of a video?

Postby koggykage on 07/20/2015, 2:50 pm

Hey guys, so I'm new to after effects... started using it because my buddy and I are editing some of my videos for youtube. So for an intro title I think it'd be cool to have the character I play in the game shooting at the title and making it explode or something. So how can I do this? I'll include a link so you can see what game I'm playing and what I mean.

When you watch the video, just pick out any one of the characters and follow everything they do- just that one champion. I want to take everything else around that out.. and use that as a layer in AE. Any feedback helpful!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjLJDNb0c90
koggykage

System Specs: Intel i7, 8gb memory, 500gb hdd/ssd hybrid

Re: How do I cut out a single element of a video?

Postby gregalan on 07/20/2015, 5:11 pm

Hi koggykage, welcome. The thing you are looking for is called Rotoscoping, basically drawing masks around your character. A Google search will give you lots of tutorials, but be warned it's a pretty tedious process.
gregalan

Postby Farmfield on 07/21/2015, 5:38 am

^this!! :)

The trick with rotoscoping is using a lot of different masks, all as simple as possible. As an easy to understand example, think you got footage of someone walking and you want to extract just the person from the background, you'd split the body up by parts you know move separately, so you'd create one mask for the head, one for the upper body, one each for the upper and lower arms and upper and lower legs and/or with separate masks for each hand and foot, if needed. Then you do it mask by mask, and it doesn't matter which you start on, just pick one, when you got that right, you start on the next.