What I love (and hate) most of VideoCopilot

Discuss serious business and industry topics

What I love (and hate) most of VideoCopilot

Postby Engine on 08/6/2008, 5:00 am

(@ the mods: if I'm in the wrong section I apologize :))

Hi guys.
First of all I would like to introduce myself :). I came from Italy, I'm 17 years old and I work (and still study at school) since I was 13. I started as a web programmer (most PHP) and today I'm a Web Designer and a Visual Effect Artist. I've worked with several companies (including Disney products) and Video Copilot was a great source of Inspiration and help for many of my works. I personally love Video Copilot and I think it's the real, biggest, source of informations and tutorials for After Effects.

In the past few months I've noticed a thing that is some kind of irritating. I'm starting seeing Videocopilot everywhere! I saw commercials in locals Cinemas done copying VC tutorials. Commercials on TV and tons of Visual Effects Artist wannabees that have just made the VC tutorials for their showreel.

So I've started to convincing myself that anybody can be a Visual Effect Artist because he can follow every step of a tutorial and then sell that work. That's kind of annoying because many persons think that they can do just what VideoCopilot did and starts to plan their works with this mentality. Example:
<<So I need a promo for this new cell phone so I'm gonna use the Energy tutorial, the Plate tutorial and maybe some Music Waveform>>.
This only creates a tons of clones.
I think instead that VC should be a source of inspiration not a source of things to copy and paste together.