Career advice

Discuss serious business and industry topics

Career advice

Postby colandoj on 07/12/2016, 9:20 am

Ok time to pour my heart out here!!

Hello everyone, my name is Jon and I am 27 years old. I graduated from Northern Illinois University back in 2012 with a bachelors in communications in hopes of working in post production. I soon realized how hard it was going to be considering my college did not offer much of a curriculum to help the students create a portfolio of any kind.

I soon discovered Video Copilot a few years after graduating and eventually kept tabs on it. Once again this was all back in 2012 when I finished college. fast forward I am now 27 and am about to be out of a job in which I was sort of forced into (financial industry). My dream has always been to work in film and TV, whether it be behind the scenes or (everyones dream at one point) in front of the camera. I really do enjoy special effects and the wonders of what you can create in the software. However I feel as if I have trouble creating files from scratch. I can watch a tutorial and follow along great, but sometimes when I try and just play around and create something I get nowhere. Like I said, it is a dream of mine to work in the film industry and I don't mind putting the work in. However, sometimes I feel like I am not making any progress as a motion graphic designer.

Is there any sort of advice anyone can lend? Between my imminent unemployment and what I wrote about above, I have become extremely depressed with myself because of the difficulty of finding a solid career in todays job market. I don't mean for this to be a sob story, I just figured I would reach out to the community.
colandoj

System Specs: Custom build desktop

Re: Career advice

Postby plae57 on 07/12/2016, 12:24 pm

I have one word for you "Instructional Designer"....