I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

For Windows, Apple, displays, mouse pads etc.

I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

Postby sdeming on 04/7/2017, 9:40 am

Guys,

I posted a similar topic on the blender artist forum, but before I replace my graphics card, I wanted to see if what works well for blender will work well for AE/Premiere. Here's my PC setup:

Processor:
Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 @ 3.50GHz + Compare Average CPU Mark
Socket: LGA2011-v3
Clockspeed: 3.5 GHz
Turbo Speed: 3.8 GHz
No of Cores: 6 (2 logical cores per physical)
Typical TDP: 140 W

Other names: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1650 v3 @ 3.50GHz
CPU First Seen on Charts: Q4 2014
CPUmark/$Price: 20.57 Overall Rank: 74


Graphics Card
Quadro K4200 + Compare Average G3D Mark
Description: Bus Interface: PCIe 2.0 x16, Max Memory Size: 4096 MB, Core Clock(s): 780 MHz, Memory Clock(s): 1350,(5400) MHz, Graphics API Support: DirectX 11 OpenGL 4.5 Max TDP: 105 W
Videocard Category: Workstation
Other names: NVIDIA Quadro K4200
Videocard First Benchmarked: 2014-09-13
G3DMark/\$Price: 4.26 Overall Rank: 80
Last Price Change: $1045.75 USD (2014-09-14) 4450

Samples: 384

SSD - (main drive) is a sk hynix sh920 2.5 7mm
Benchmarks at around 73% - http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTe...hynix-SH920-25

Storage/EDIT Drive
st1000DM003-1er162Benchmarks Low (maybe I shouldn't edit from this drive??)http://hdd.userbenchmark.com/Seagate...TB/Rating/1849
32 GB ram (DDR4)

WINDOWS 10 64bit

I may have answered my own question with working off the slower drive, but is there anything else I can do to speed up my system?

I'm considering selling the Quadro and going with a GTX 1070 Gaming card http://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Nv ... 2838vs3609
sdeming
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 06/6/2009, 9:05 pm
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/sethdeming

Re: I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

Postby JPT7505 on 04/7/2017, 1:53 pm

Seperate drives for:

OS
assets
Cache

Are all ways to improve speed however you haven't stated what exactly you're doing in AE that is soo slow.
JPT7505
 
Posts: 722
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am

Re: I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

Postby sdeming on 04/7/2017, 3:15 pm

Well, it seems like element, and particular are running fine, but if I'm doing a motion graphics piece with lots of layers, simple illustrator files, the computer seems to run slower than I'd expect/hope.
sdeming
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 06/6/2009, 9:05 pm
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/sethdeming

Re: I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

Postby JPT7505 on 04/7/2017, 3:40 pm

Define 'lots' and are you doing 3d animation, do you have motion blur on, at what resolution, what comp size etc.

And I don't see how much ram you have
JPT7505
 
Posts: 722
Joined: 02/9/2011, 8:17 am

Re: I have an awesome computer...AE is SLOOOOWW

Postby mobidesign on 08/11/2017, 5:01 am

Try this :

Render 300X FASTER | Premiere / After Effects / Media Encoder | Adobe |

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoKVRzszohI
mobidesign
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08/11/2017, 2:27 am
Location: France
System Specs: Win10 /64bits
Core i7-6850K @ 3.6Ghz
128G RAM
GeForce GTX1080 Ti
Raid SSD
NAS


Return to Computer Hardware & Technology