Coming from mac to PC - need advice!

For Windows, Apple, displays, mouse pads etc.

Coming from mac to PC - need advice!

Postby mooviemakers on 03/20/2017, 3:38 am

After about 10 years I’ve decided to make the switch back from mac to PC. Needless to say I’m finding the various combinations of components and configurations involved in a PC build a bit overwhelming and hopefully I can get a bit of a nudge in the right direction on here :-)

The machine is primarily for After Effects (2D animation, motion graphics, and Element 3D work), Illustrator and Cinema 4D, in that order of importance. Premiere and Photoshop also get used but to a much lesser extent. I don’t game at all so gaming performance isn’t a priority. I’m a full time motion designer so this will be my primary work computer.

I’ve budgeted about £3000/$3000 for the actual base unit which is about what I’d be spending on a new iMac, I’ve already got monitors and peripherals so don’t need them from the budget. Can stretch to more if needed or if I can save money anywhere let me know. I’ll list what I’ve roughly spec’d out myself and I’d love to hear any comments on whether or not this is a decent allocation of resources:

Ryzen 1800x, overclocked with water cooling
64GB DDR4 RAM
1 x 500GB PCIE SSD for applications, OS etc.
1 x 250GB Internal SATA SSD for cache
1 x 3TB HDD for media storage
1 x GTX 1080ti
650w power supply
Wireless network card

I’ve priced all this up and it’s roughly £3000 in the UK. Any thoughts on any of the components? The Ryzen CPU looks like a really good CPU for the money, but would an i7 or Xeon setup be better? I’ve also gone for a decent graphics card as I want to try out Octane for C4D and also get some improved Element 3D performance. Would I be better going for a duel card SLI setup instead?

I’m sure posts like this are very common so apologies if I’m repeating common questions, any help would be greatly appreciated though.

Thanks
mooviemakers