BLACKMAGIC POCKET CINEMA CAMERA: BUY OR NOT?

HD Video Cameras, microphones, greenscreens etc.

BLACKMAGIC POCKET CINEMA CAMERA: BUY OR NOT?

Postby ZeeShao on 07/19/2014, 6:04 am

Hi guys first I want to introduce myself a bit. I am a high school student with limited budget but I love filmmaking and hope to major in filmmaking in university. Now I just use a Nikon D3100 to shoot(I know it is not a good choice) and a windows laptop to edit.

I started to notice the Blackmagic cameras last year. The price is, far cheaper than other pro gear,but still a little bit high for me, so I never consider to get one. HOWEVER, now BMPCC offers such a big discount that make it possible for me to buy.

The problem is, I am a fish in filmmaking and piratically knows nothing about grading and colouring(except adjusting curves in AE). Also, I heard many other accessories are needed for BMPCC to work properly, which will also increase the cost. And with BMPCC’s ProRes Codecs and RAW, I seriously doubt my laptop is not powerful enough to handle the footage.

So I am struggling between buy it or not. Is it necessary to have a good camera to practice skills? I mean, the post-production workflow between DSLRs and cinema cameras are totally different. Does BMPCC make a good long-term investment in filmmaking study? I need some suggestions…

Sincerely,
Zee Shao
A passionate crazy guy.
ZeeShao

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZdragonMagellan

Re: BLACKMAGIC POCKET CINEMA CAMERA: BUY OR NOT?

Postby Farmfield on 07/19/2014, 6:08 pm

You should look into the Canon Eos M, a seriously failed attempt by Canon to get into the mirrorless camera business, lots and lots of crap reviews, and an all over a disaster for Canon.

But.